Honouring the God

Last week I talked about how Wiccans worship a female deity as well as a male. This week, it’s time to look at the Wiccan God.

Unlike other religions, the Horned God is equal to the Goddess. He is not more powerful than the Goddess; he is her consort, her lover, her mate. You cannot think of the Goddess without the God, and vice versa. He is the King of the Wild Places untouched by man, the sexual urges that drive us, the ripe harvest and tender to wild animals. He is the sun, and the Goddess the moon.

He is often depicted wearing horns on his head, representing his connection to the wild. Early Christians corrupted this image to invoke fear and convert Pagans to Christianity. Other symbols red candles, athame, and gold and brass objects. I use a Stag Horn fern during rites.

The Wheel of the Year, which governs Wiccan rituals, depicts the life of the Horned God. For the first half of the wheel he is known as the Holly King, who governs the land from Midsummer to midwinter. These are the ‘dark’ days when the sunlight grows weaker and the Earth (Northern Hemisphere) begins its slumber. For the second half of the wheel his is the Oak King; the virile and light aspect of the season. Make no mistake, The Oak King and the Holly King are Horned God. Tradition states he is reborn in winter, comes to manhood in the spring, romances the Goddess in summer and dies in the autumn. I’ve never been able to align my beliefs with this. I find it too depressing.

I see the God accompany the Goddess through the year, enjoying each other’s’ company through each of the seasons. For me, this way of thinking helps me to connect to those aspects of my inner self, and in return, brings me closer to Them.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Honouring the God

  1. Cassie says:

    Do you sometimes feel the importance of the Horned God is down played in Pagan circles because of the ways Christianity has corrupted his image?

    • With people new to Paganism-yes, but mostly because they are trying to get away from the male-dominated beliefs and see the Goddess as a breath of fresh air.

      I know when I first started down this path, honouring a female deity was exhilarating and liberating, but once I realize you can’t have one without the other, the God took his rightful place in my rites.

  2. Ryan King says:

    Hmm. I’m glad to see you’re finding balance between the God and Goddess. In most wiccan circles, like Cassie says above, the emphasis is on the Goddess. More and more I’m seeing where she comes first so your post was certainly a breath of fresh air.

    • I can’t separate the two, and I won’t. There is a balance in Nature, and that must be carried over to our beliefs. Well, I think so. Thanks for posting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

