A Personal Observation – Support the Twitter Revolution!

Have you heard about the new Twitter revolution? It involves taking back the hashtags from automated posts. You know the ones I’m talking about; those misguided individuals who feel they need to bleat constantly about their book or blog, and have scheduled tweets with links go off every hour or more. They’ve over-run the only two hashtag groups I was a part of; #mywana and #amwriting and it was because of them that I stopped participating.

I love to talk, especially if it’s about something I enjoy. I love connecting to writers of all genre’s and skill levels and helping out when I can and that’s why I love Twitter. It’s real-time communications; the ‘water cooler of the internet’, (no, I did not come up with that phrase), and it pained me to stop being a part of these wonderful groups.

Well, someone finally decided to do something about it. Kristen Lamb who started #mywana (wana being the acronym for We Are Not Alone) has begun blocking these auto-tweeters from her hashtag. Make no mistake about it; it’s HER hashtag and she will defend it. Read more about what she’s doing here:

http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/without-love-there-is-no-community-taking-back-mywana/

Yet it has to go farther than just one or two groups. We Twitter-folk have to take back ALL our favourite hashtag groups. We must stop our favourite places from being inundated with blatant and militant promotional tactics. These are our places to connect with like-minded people and we must keep free of unwanted clutter.

Don’t be angry with those who are violating our space, sympathize with them. They believe this is the strategy they must apply to promote themselves, when all it does is force their posts into the background or be ignored completely, and one day, they will understand. You want readers? You want people to visit your blog? Then let us know there’s a real human behind that Twitter profile. Participate in those hashtag groups with friendship and helpful advice. Be a human instead of a bot.

Viva la Revolution!

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to A Personal Observation – Support the Twitter Revolution!

  1. I agree 100% with the concept.

    My only thought is – I usually am most coherent at 5 to 6 am. About ten hours before most people check in on Facebook, Twitter, or elsewhere. If I post when I can concentrate, and am ready to write the post, no one see’s it.

    If I ever learned how to automate posts, I would do that. However, I wouldn’t abandon them to post on their own. If say, I scheduled a post at 2pm, I’d check about 2:15 to see if there had been any responses.

    And yes, I have tried writing elsewhere and saving the post until 2pm. I promptly forget to post it all.

    So hopefully, people can accept what I would do as an acceptable automated post.

    And yet, I know many who post legitimately, and get off the computer without checking for responses as well.

Leave a Reply

