Friday Writing Update

I seem to have a thing for creating series.

Novel: Tales of the Demon

This book is coming along nicely. I came up with new minions to roam Hell, and I did something to one of my characters that will have serious repercussions later on.  I did a quick tweet about it, so if you missed it, you’ll have to wait for the book.

I’m noticing a trend developing with this series. Each book longer than the one before it. I’m at chapter seven now, and I’ve just come to the meat of the story. Now that’s not to say everything prior to this is build-up. There are things that have to be resolved, other things that need to be placed for the other books. It just feels odd that they keep getting bigger.

Side Novel: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

I restored the original six chapters of this story and combined the first few Victorian chapters with the originals. Very good results so far. I’m really glad the recycle bin doesn’t permanently delete the files. I’m calling this The Hallowell Series.

 

Short Stories:

‘Trip of a Lifetime’ was rejected. That’s okay, I sent out a query to another ezine so I’m hoping I hear from them soon. I don’t care if I don’t get paid for it. I just want it to have a nice home.

I’ve been working on a new erotic short story. No title yet, but it has the same two characters as my first one (Brie and Jonothan), plus, I came up with an idea for another one with the same people. I would like to do more with this couple. They sound really fun. 😛

 

NEW PROJECT ALERT!!!

I’ve come up with a new paranormal series. It’ll only be about four books long, but I think it could be good. Set in the early Victorian/Industrial era, I’m going to follow the Descension plot; where the MC starts off in a rather good life and slowly over time ‘descends to the gutter and moral turpitude’. In other words, something bad is going to happen to her, and her way of dealing with it, is to give in to her vices. This is going to drag her down socially. If you know anything about Victorian social structures, you’ll understand how this could be the worst thing to happen to a young woman, but this isn’t going to bother her. Most books deal with people striving to better themselves or the Hero is of high morals, trying to do the right thing (demon hunter, monsters not killing), but I’m taking this in a different direction. I call it the Paranormal Debauchery genre. 😀 I’ve outlined the first book and did a rough outline of the other three, and yes, there will be erotic scenes, and I’m thinking maybe a little Steampunk as well? It doesn’t have even a working title, so right now I’m calling it the side-side WIP.

 

How are your writing projects coming along?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Friday Writing Update

  1. Oooh, I really like the sound of your new project. This will be a fascinating heroine!

Leave a Reply

