Sci-Fi Sunday: Scifi Television

After movies, I used to watch a lot of scifi television. The original Star Trek was one of the first scifi shows I ever watched. I’m not really sure why I watched it. I guess it was another of those ‘Saturday-afternoon-and-nothing-to-watch’ deals. Battlestar Galactica (original), and Space 1999 are the two I remember the best. I found this site that has a list of the scifi shows of that decade listed by station.

http://telewatcher.com/science-fiction/best-70s-science-fiction-television-shows/

Some of these, like the Bionic Woman and the Six Million Dollar Man, we used to watch, but I never considered them science fiction, and I was really surprised to see Mork and Mindy on there. I guess, because Mork was an alien, but it still feels odd referencing it as that.

The 90’s were really good for science fiction television. I found this list, but there are a few that I watched that aren’t on that list, like Space: Above and Beyond and Lexx; The Dark Zone. While they were one season each, I think they were incredible shows.

http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/archive/index.php/t-430719.html

Now we’re into a new century, and while there are still the scifi shows, I’m having a hard time finding one that grabs me. I don’t seem to be connecting to them like I did. I wasn’t into LOST (and considering the 2nd season and the series finale, I’m glad) or TERRA NOVA, and the only one I really did liked, JERICHO, was cancelled!

Here’s another list of shows. Most of these are from other countries as well.

http://www.imdb.com/list/Pu4-KtfOWHA/

I guess when I think of science fiction, I think of spaceship, aliens and other worlds. What about you? What makes a show science fiction for you?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Sci-Fi Sunday: Scifi Television

  1. I tend to think of space ships too or at least a futuristic world and gadgetry. I was very fond of Babylon 5. It was the best science fiction to date.

    • Husband and I LOVED B5. One of the most original shows at the time. There was supposed to be a spin off- but the creator got upset with the producers and some of the actors. He pulled the plug on it after just a couple episodes.

  2. I watched the old ones when I was little, but haven’t seen any of the new ones. My kids seem to have total control on the TV. My new favorite is Max and Ruby. But I still love science fiction movies. Especially the ones with Will Smith.

Leave a Reply

