There is a Season, Turn, Turn, Turn…

I’ve had this song going through my head the last few days. Ever since we drove into town and I spotted a maple tree with a few leaves turning orange. I always get excited when the first trees start to turn. It’s like seeing the first snowfall of the year or the first warm spring day. It’s a signal that life is changing, moving forward. It’s something to look forward to; not be afraid of.

Since becoming a pagan, I’ve notice the changes in the season more prevalent now. Not just the obvious, but the little things like the difference in the way the air smells, or the way the clouds look (yes they look different). I notice the small animals readying their food supply or the birds flocking up and preparing for the long journey south.

I notice the affect it has on me as well. Spring and Autumn are filled with weather turmoil as the warm and cold fronts battle it out for control, and they’ve been known to wreak havoc with my emotions. I’m pretty good at keeping the chaos at bay, but sometimes, especially if I’m under stress, it’s not so easy.

I feel the turmoil and while I am excited that I’m so connected to Nature, I’m sure it drives my family nuts. I’ve often wondered if the changing of the seasons has the same effect on the wildlife? After all, they experience some of the same emotions as humans do. Why should it not? So the next time you see acting oddly, just take note of the season and keep away. You never know how they’ll react.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to There is a Season, Turn, Turn, Turn…

  1. This is what draws me to paganism. I always experience this in spring and fall. It’s as if the earth is feeling such deep emotion that she has to shout or sing, or just vibrate with the intensity of it. It’s a time that reminds me that we are animals, born of this planet, and connected to her in ways we can hardly fathom. I love these times.

  2. J. L. Mbewe says:

    I’m not a pagan, but I love, love, love the fall, the changing of the seasons, the colorful trees and the crisper weather, and all the different smells for sure! that is when I lived up north and seasons actually existed, not so much now, down here in the south. blah. Anyways, I believe the animals definitely sense the changing of the weather so much more than humans. We’ve kind of lost that, especially with all the technology and city living. I used to stare at the sky for hours when I was younger, love watching the sky, but now as a mom with youngsters, I’ve not been out as much as I would like and if I am, I’m chasing kids. ha! Sigh. Probably need to put that on my to-get-back-to-doing list. 🙂

    • I love the smell of Autumn. The scent of burning wood in the crisp evening air. I don’t think I could live any place where the seasons didn’t change so prominently.

      Thanks for posting! 🙂

  3. The sky changes at night. Saw the first glimpse of the Pleides last weekend. A sign of fall. Scorpious getting lower in the sky. The way the light changes during the day. The sounds and smells change. We don’t have a lot of deciduous trees here, so we never get much color.

Leave a Reply

