Your Writing Career; Which Path Should You Choose? Part Three – Self Publishing.

Last week I talked about Indie Publishing. For a recap, click the link below.

https://darkeconteur.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/your-writing-career-which-path-should-you-choose-part-two-indie-publishing/

This week I want to talk about Self-Publishing.

Out of all the paths to take for your writing career, Self-publishing has quickly become the most popular. While the debate is on whether or not there is still the stigma, and what it’s done to publishing as a while, one this is clear; self-publishing has changed the entire industry.

First, let me say this is probably the hardest path to choose. You are on your own for every step; from editing to marketing. You have to learn how to format your book, do cover art, and find reviewers. Some of this you can pay someone to do, especially editing and cover art. As a matter of fact, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you do just that, but like anything else do your research. Some editing sites are expensive, but look around. Different people charge different prices.

I consider Self-publishing the perfect choice for those writers who are control freaks, because you control every aspect, every part of the project. The bad thing is, there’s no one to tell you if or when you’re doing something wrong. You have to learn most of this on your own. If you feel overwhelmed, there are plenty of sites that you can visit that offer moral support and technical guidance. Both Smashwords and Amazon have forums for the self-published author.

PRO – No restrictions on genres to write. Complete freedom. No time-lag between finished a book and publishing it. Finish today, publish tomorrow.

CON – Everything is left up to the author to do. Editing, cover art, marketing, promotion. EVERYTHING.

 

Are you a Self-published author? What good/bad experiences have you heard/encountered?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to Your Writing Career; Which Path Should You Choose? Part Three – Self Publishing.

  1. I’ve had no actual bad experiences, but it truly is the loneliest of paths. If you can’t do any of the requirements necessary to complete a book, you’ll have to hire someone, and that can be expensive. I save money on my covers because I do them myself, but editing, even if I know the book is clean, still goes to a pro. The good editors don’t come cheap.

  2. I chose it because it suits my independent mind. It is a tough path. But I don’t think the other paths are any easier. Just different maybe.

  3. E.B. Black says:

    I’m about to be a self-published author. I think it’s like you said. I’m doing it because I like being in control of my future. At least I know that if things go wrong it’s all my fault and not someone else’s choices that got me there.

Leave a Reply

