Mythical Wednesday: Near-death Experience

What a chilling phrase. Near-death experience. It brings all kinds of horrible scenario’s to mind, and most, if not all of them involve some kind of act of violence.

Near death. Like inches away from being legally dead. Probably no heartbeat and very little brain activity.

In this state people claim they leave their body, and float above themselves. Some people claim they’ve crossed over; actually going someplace nice (usually a field of flowers) after following a long tunnel. Some even say they’ve spoken to loved ones who died.

I think this is so cool! Not the ‘inches away from being legally dead’ thing, but remembering things that happened to you while in this state. It’s nice to know that we don’t just disappear into the fabric of the universe when we die, and to me, this knowledge makes death easier to handle.

There are the detractors; people who claim what these individuals are actually experiencing is a hallucination brought on by lack of oxygen to the brain. Our brains are an incredible piece of biological technology, but could it really make up that kind of fantasy?

So does that mean if I hold my breath long enough, I’ll have these visions as well? [/sarcasm]

No one can really say what happens when we’re that close to death, because we either die, or the majority of us don’t remember. People who have near-death experiences are rare, and although more people believe, there are a lot more who find it hard to accept.

I for one, believe. I think there is so much to our world, to ourselves, that we haven’t discovered. I don’t think I want to experience something like that, but it’s comforting to know that when we do die, we go some place nice. I don’t know about you, but I like wildflowers.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to Mythical Wednesday: Near-death Experience

  1. I’m with you. Whether it’s true or not, it’s still comforting at a time when I might be afraid of the unknown. I choose to believe.

  2. If it’s a halucination, why does everyone have the same vision? It’s nice to know it’s not just over.

  3. E.b. Black says:

    This is kind of ironic, but the reason I call myself “Death Author” sometimes is not only because I write about necromancers, but also because death has been a subject I’ve dwelt on since I was a young child. I hate not knowing with a hundred percent certainty what happens to someone’s soul (and if there is a soul) when they die, especially since I’ve known and been close to people that died.

    Basically, I wish I had peace about it like you and others do and I think my confused feelings over it are often why I write about underworlds and the dead in my novels. I make up what happens to people when they die because I have no idea what happens in real life.

    • Accepting this mindset took several decades and many deaths. I don’t think a year has passed in the last decade where Husband or myself hasn’t lost someone close to us. Yes, it’s sad, but grieving is less because I know they’re not REALLY gone and I’ll see them again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

