Can this be done?

Over the last few weeks, I did a brief outline of each path of publishing. I hoped to show people that while each path is different, there are pro’s and con’s for each. A writers career is personal and can only be chosen be his or her personal goal. Which is why I don’t understand why some authors on either side insist that they’re way is the only way.

This got me to thinking; why not try to do all three? Is that so impossible? With all the Indie publishing sites, I can write a novel about zombie love (not that I would, that’s just gross) or write a novel that mixes more than one genre, so why can’t I try to get my novels published all three ways?

I have my paranormal series, which is self-published, so that option is done. I have two more novels that could become series’ that might have a chance with an agent. The Possession of Mercy Moreau is an erotic paranormal romance that has elements of horror, and Gutterchild is a paranormal Steampunk with erotic elements. I’m not sure which one I should query first.

It would be interesting to see if I could be published in all three venues. What do you think? Do you think that my self-publishing could hurt my chances with an agent?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

10 Responses to Can this be done?

  1. I think it no longer hurts your chances. Plus, you have gone about self-publishing in a very professional manner, so I think it will help you with most agents. It will also help when the agent approaches publishers. They will all see that you have a platform and a ready-made base of readers.

    I don’t see why a writer can’t publish in all three ways. I’m certainly keeping my options open for that.

  2. Joyce Alton says:

    I say go for it. I don’t think self-publishing creds will hurt your chances. It’s not like your trying to thrust your self-published books at agents. Publishing in all three directions sounds like a fun challenge.

  3. Joyce Alton says:

    Oh, and I didn’t mean your self-published books wouldn’t have a chance traditionally–just to clarify. =)

  4. I know people who do all three. And considering some agents are knocking each other out for a few self-published authors to sign with them, I’d say it no longer holds a stigma. In the end, all they care about is if they can make money off your work.

  5. E.b. Black says:

    I think it would be awesome to do all three. And that each publishing experience could improve you as an author in different ways.

Leave a Reply

