Friday Writing Update

Had a couple lazy days but my word count for this last week was incredible.

 

WIP: Watchtower Book Four; Tales of the Demon

One thing I’ve realized when working on a series like this, you really have to outline the overall plot or you’ll lose yourself. I think half of the work I did on this novel over the last couple weeks, was spent making sure I didn’t give away anything too soon. I don’t want to have nothing to write about for the last book. Speaking of books, here are the titles and order for the series.

4. Tales of the Demon

5. Signs and Portends (working title)

5.1 The Saints of Belvedere Road (side novel, important)

6. Awaken the Herald (working title)

6.1 Crypt of Souls (side novel, important, Daniel’s  solo)

7. Revenge of the Fallen (working title)

8. Battle for Acheron (working title)

I’ve had a few ideas about stories that would take place prior to this series; maybe Jezryall’s life and the reason she became Caretaker of an Acheron portal, her and Aslin meeting for the first time which would include Daniel and what happened at Stonehenge, and the whole mess Barb found herself in with the serial killer. Not to mention there could be some good ideas of things afterward. I thought about writing another novel with the characters from SAINTS. I’ve often wanted to go back and see how Amelia Saint is handling the fact her husband turned their first born son into a vessel for minions. Something to consider after all these others are done?

 

Side WIP: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

I think after this novel is done, I’m going to relax on this series. My Muse is pulling me in too many different directions and I don’t want my other novels to suffer for it. Now when I mean done, I mean revised and edited and ready to sub. I still like this idea of having a series set in the same town and with different characters, but with my self-published works and my Steampunk, I think I might just put this series on the back burner for a while. That is, unless it gets picked up. Good thing I have a couple other stories for the series outlined.

 

Side-Side WIP: Gutterchild

The shiny still hasn’t worn off on this but it’s driving me nuts that it’s pulling me so strong. Research for this has been interesting. I have to Google words carefully or I don’t find what I need. I’m really pushing the envelope with this one, touching on a couple subjects that seem to be a raging debate in the States.

 

How is your writing coming along?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Friday Writing Update

  1. That is so cool about Saints of Belvedere Road! I had no idea it was a part of this series. Really looking forward to seeing it all put together!

  2. Steve Wellz says:

    Do you focus on one story per day/week? Or have several side tales to choose from too?
    Do you aim for a set amount of words per day?

    • Hi Steve!
      Usually I focus on only one story until it’s done, but for some reason both the side WIP and the side-side WIP kept poking at me. I’d write 1k on one, then put it away and open another and write another 1k, and then put that away and open the last. Best thing is, I can get all that done by early afternoon and still have time to do other non-writing stuff. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

