Sci-Fi Sunday: My First Scifi Book

Science fiction was first brought to the masses through literature. Jules Verne and Orsen Wells are but a few writers who sparked our imagination. One of the things I Ioved was seeing what these writers thought the world would be like. 1984 brought us a stark and depressing look of a society completely controlled by the government, while others had the human race out beyond the stars with colonies on the moon and Mars. I don’t know about you, but I’m a little sad we didn’t fulfill their expectations.

One of the first scifi books I read was a continuation from the Star Wars movie—Splinter of the Minds Eye. The book took place between Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back. I read it from cover to cover in just a few days, completely taken in. When I looked up some info on the novel, I found this. Very interesting fact.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Splinter_of_the_Mind’s_Eye

More importantly, this book opened me to read more which in turn, fuelled by interest in science fiction. I have dozens of scifi books, but sadly, had to stop buying them when money became tight. With the popularity of ebooks, I’m once again reading and I’ve already purchased a couple scifi novel and can’t wait to dive into them. I think I still have SPLINTER but I’m not sure. I should go look for it.

What was the first book to spark your interest? Do you still have it?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Sci-Fi Sunday: My First Scifi Book

  1. I would say the sf novel that turned me into a fan was Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. The first book was borrowed from the library. I’ve since bought my own copy. 🙂 Good question.

  2. I’ll play! The first SF book that I remember was that old favorite, “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle. I was eight years old, so that was around 1963 or 64. I do have the book, although not the original one I read. That was library book.

Leave a Reply

