Friday Writing Update

The Watchtower Series: Tales of the Demon

I should have been finished the rough draft of this book, but guess what, I’m not. Two more chapters and then the first draft will be done. I’ve struggled with this story from the beginning and I don’t know why. It isn’t that I didn’t know what to write, I had a really good outline, but other things kept poking at me or distracting me. This summer’s heat was brutal and there were days I couldn’t write, and then the other WIPs kept wanting some of my time too. I’m a little behind schedule with this one. Should be ready for revisions the second week of October.

 

Gothic Fiction Series: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

I finished up chapter seven this week. Five more and I can start on revisions. My biggest challenge will be adding the ‘horror’ element to this story. So far I it’s a paranormal/erotic/mystery. I’m afraid adding another element might bury the whole thing. It’s been fun to add hints of other books into this one, and so far I only have three other story ideas for the series.

 

Paranormal Steampunk Series: Gutterchild

Finished up chapter five on this one. Twelve more to go. Wow, didn’t think it would be this long, but there are things that I can’t skip over. I’m slowly teaching myself to write longer; to find the things that will add to the story instead of either passing them by or ignoring them, but at the same time, I don’t want to bore the hell out of the reader with useless ramblings. I’ve also jotted down a few things for the final book. I have a clear idea of how the other two are going to play out, but the last book is kind of, well, bleh.

One thing that does concern me with this first book; my MC has a lot of love interests in this book, but not so much in the others. I’ve tried to even it out; giving her two lovers per book (sometimes they overlap), but this first one has two lovers and a love interest. Is that too much? Nothing really happens with the interest (at least not in this book), so maybe that better? Is there a proper number of lovers a MC should have, before it starts getting confusing?

 

So how have the last couple weeks been for your writing?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

