The Wonders of Beeswax Candles

A while back, I did a post about relaxation and how to incorporate it into your life. One of those means was meditation; another is my topic for today—beeswax candles.

If you’ve never burned a beeswax candle, you’re in for a nice surprise. Unlike paraffin wax, beeswax gives off a honey smell, and as an added bonus, gives off negative ions, which in turn clean the air of dust mould and odours. Another advantage of negative ions is that it helps to create a peaceful environment. I once heard someone say that if everyone in the world lit a beeswax candle at the same time and let it burn, all the negativity in the world would disappear. Don’t know how true that is, but I do notice a change in attitude when I burn them.

They are a bit more expensive than paraffin wax, but they’re worth it. I’ve also found that if you follow the burning instructions, they last a lot longer as well. Many online places sell coloured beeswax candles in tea lites and in sheets. I buy the sheets and roll them up myself. Another thing I like about them is the way some of them look. The ‘drippy’ look is so cool.

Have you ever burned beeswax candles? What did you think of them?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

8 Responses to The Wonders of Beeswax Candles

  1. I’d never heard of that lore about beeswax, but it makes perfect sense to me now. I do feel better around ‘natural’ candles than the manufactured kind. I thought it was just me. LOL.

    I’ve never bought a beeswax candle but I might treat myself this year.

  2. BigBear85 says:

    They look so cool, yeah i am such a nerd but man they fit with this time a year so well, I need to get some of these

  3. E.b. Black says:

    I have never used beeswax candles, but I like the idea of helping to create a calm and happy environment. I might try this some time. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

