Movie Night: Battleship

Tagline: A fleet of ships is forced to do battle with an armada of unknown origins in order to discover and thwart their destructive goals.

Rating: PG 13

IMDB Link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1440129/

 

I was a little surprised by the IMDB tagline as it vaguely describes this movie. Yes, there are navy ships battling alien ships, but it’s pretty clear right near the beginning what they were trying to do, and both sides aren’t a big as the tagline suggests.

After hearing a lot of crap about this movie, I was expecting it to be pretty cheesy. After all, it’s based off the Hasbro BATTLESHIP game. How lame is that? I was pleasantly surprised to be disappointed, and I rather enjoyed the movie once it got going.

BATTLESHIP reminded me of SKYLINE; the good and the bad. Like SKYLINE, this was a good concept movie with a lot of potential, and like SKYLINE, it fell short. The premise was good, and the movie was interesting once they got past the first act. I really liked the way they tied the plot to the game, but there were scenes in the beginning that weren’t needed (establishing the MC and the ‘love interest meeting), and the actions of the MC– specifically showing him somewhat disrespecting is position in the Navy, smacked of being forced. In my opinion, there was no need for the writers to show the MC as being a slacker, ‘full of wasted potential’. They would have been better off modeling like BATTLE LOS ANGELES, and stick to the ‘survival plot’.

Overall, I did like the movie. There were some heartwarming scenes with old Navy vets and it was interesting to have the aliens technology just as limiting (in some ways) as the humans. There is swearing, but nothing really bad.

4 out of 5

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Movie Night: Battleship

  1. Now I feel bad. I thought it was cheesy so I talked the husband out of it. I hope it comes on Netflix soon so I can be absolved. Thanks for the review.

    • Don’t feel bad, I did the same thing. I heard so many ‘horrible’ things about it from ‘insiders’ that it put me off. Some of it was cheezy, like the beginning parts, but when it got going, it got going.

Leave a Reply

