Friday Writing Update

The Watchtower Series: Tales of the Demon
The first draft of this book is done. Twelve chapters with a word count of 37,331. That total surprised me. I wasn’t expecting the first draft to be so much. This book could easily go over 40k. Monday (or Tuesday) I’ll start on the revision draft. I’ve set this book release date for the new year. With everything else I’ve got going I think that would be a good estimated date.

Gothic Fiction Series: The Possession of Mercy Moreau
Another chapter finished. Slowly but surely this novel is progressing. I’ve got the majority of the plot done; the MC now realises something is seriously wrong but hasn’t decided whether or not she’s going to do anything. She is, I just haven’t written it yet.

Paranormal Steampunk Series: Gutterchild
The more I work on this story, the longer it gets. It isn’t plot bunnies jumping up, it’s just so much happens that I’m afraid of leaving a scene out and then something not making any sense later on. I have a feeling this is going to be closer to a 100k novel than an 80k. That would make it the longest novel I’ve ever written. Right now it’s 23k and I’ve just started chapter 6, and there are seventeen chapters outlined so far. That will increase as I keep writing. I’m not one for really long books, and I could cut this first one into two if it gets too long. That way I could focus on establishing certain relationships instead of it feeling brushed over.

Actually, that’s a good idea considering the romantic entanglements in this novel. Great, I just added a new book to this series. I don’t know, we’ll see.

So how have the last couple weeks been for your writing?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Friday Writing Update

  1. The past weeks have been no writing on novels, just articles. But as long as it is writing I am happy 🙂 Have a great long weekend Darke!

Leave a Reply

