Erotic Sunday: Lord Byron

Sounds rather sacrilege, doesn’t it? Talking about sex on a Sunday. Or maybe some of my Catholic husband is rubbing off on me.

In my opinion, one cannot write erotica without paying homage to those who came before us. Considered to be a leading figure in the Romantic Movement of literature during the eighteenth century, Lord Byron was as well known for his scandalous affairs as well as his literature. While his most famous poem ‘SHE WALKS IN BEAUTY’, is sweet and innocent, it was his other work ‘CHILDE HAROLD’S PILGRIMAGE’ that made him really famous as it depicted a young man’s journey across Europe and the many romantic encounters he had. At the time, many thought this succession of poems were autobiographical due to Lord Byron’s reputation. After all, Byron’s sexual appetite was well known to everyone with rumours that he was bi-sexual.

Mild by today’s standards, many passages in CHILDE HAROLD’S PILGRIMAGE were considered to be incredibly erotic. Some people find this hard to believe as the see the Victorian era though the eyes of Jane Austin or the Bronte Sisters, when it was far from the truth, but that’s a topic for another Sunday.

Lord Byron also gave us the Byronic character which has become very popular in modern romantic literature. There are several good definitions, many of which, could be considered characteristics of Lord Byron himself.

An antihero who is a romanticized but wicked character. Conventionally, the figure is a young and attractive male with a bad reputation. He defies authority and conventional morality, and becomes paradoxically ennobled by his peculiar rejection of virtue. The icon of James Dean in Rebel Without a Cause is a good example. Byronic heroes are associated with destructive passions, sometimes selfish brooding or indulgence in personal pains, alienation from their communities, persistent loneliness, intense introspection, and fiery rebellion.

Sounds familiar, doesn’t it?

 

*reference links*

http://web.cn.edu/kwheeler/lit_terms_b.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lord_Byron

http://englishhistory.net/byron.html

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

3 Responses to Erotic Sunday: Lord Byron

  1. So he invented the ‘bad boy’? Sounds like he was one himself. Do you think that to become better authors, we have to become colorful characters ourselves? I watched a movie about James Joyce over the weekend, so this has me wondering…

  2. What a GREAT blog topic!

    I don’t know. Everyone always says write what you know, but to become that character?

    Writers are such strange people to start with. We all have our idiosyncrasies. Funny, I was just talking to someone today on Twitter about putting our life experiences in our manuscripts.

  3. E.b. Black says:

    It’s strange, but there’s still people now who are scandalized by such “mild” literature. And most authors (including myself) would rather die than have our parents read our “mild” literature. Ugh. I’m cringing right now imagining my Dad reading my upcoming novel. I told him he was “banned” from reading it. 😄 People are naked through out practically my entire novel (but it takes place in Ancient Greece, what do people expect?)

    Anyway, to add on to the previous comments . . . . . . too bad there’s not an entire blog post about this topic! I’m a very average person to meet in real life, I think. A lot think I am boring because I’m quiet and generally agreeable, definitely not rebellious.

    But my thoughts are a bit weird sometimes (I just don’t always express all of them outside of my novels) and I see some of my characters taking on some of my weird thoughts and me forming an entire personality around one weird thought I’ve had before. And sometimes I create characters based on people I know or have known. Or people I’m trying to understand and failing to and therefore I write a character similar to them so maybe I can start to sympathize with their viewpoint.

    It’s weird to me because I know I’m definitely IN my books as character traits and certain types of language usage or in the events of the novels and how some of them are similar to my life experiences and ESPECIALLY in the style of my writing, but at the same time, I’d be offended if people said I *was* my characters because I’m not. There are many ways their lives are different than mine and many parts of their personalities and lives that I’d never do and have never experienced. It’s hard to explain to someone who doesn’t write regularly.

Leave a Reply

