Blessed Samhain!

I have received a lot of traffic over the last few days for my two Samhain posts, but as I’m so busy getting things ready for the conference, I don’t have time to do it, so I thought I would show you a picture of how I set up the Honouring the Dead ritual and tell you a little about each person shown.

The woman at the top-left hand side was named Lisa, and she committed suicide a few years back. I went to high school with her, then worked with her a few years later. Both my husband and I know her. We heard later she was bi-polar and this may have contributed to her suicide.

Next is a group picture from when I used to work as a waitress. You can’t see it well, but there is a older gentleman standing in the middle of us. He was our boss as the best boss I ever had. Really cared about his staff. He passed away in 1998. I remember this because Sithboy was still a baby and I couldn’t get away to get to his funeral.

On the right-hand side next to the centrepiece is a picture of Floyd. Our male beagle. He hated being alone. Would howl and bark for at least ten minutes (according to the neighbours) after we left for work in the morning.

Bottom right-hand picture is Joan. Husband’s grandmother. It’s been a year since she died. Ironically, MIL buried her ashes on her birthday.

Bottom left-hand picture is my grandmother Louise (Lulu). She died when I was nineteen due complications of Alzhimers. They didn’t have the medication they do now, so she deteriorated pretty quickly. I still remember making her pictures of rainbows with chalk.

Left hand side of the centrepiece is a picture of my grandmother and three of her sisters. This picture was the last one taken of them all together. It was at my mother’s College graduation.

I know things are hectic and busy today, but remember to take a few moments and remember those who aren’t with us anymore.

 

~Blessed Samhain~

 

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Blessed Samhain!

  1. It’s a lovely memorial. Blessed Samhain!

  2. What a nice well rounded remembrance circle. I especially like that you added your dog.

Leave a Reply

