World Fantasy Convention; Day One

What a day. It’s just after nine pm and I’m pooped!

Slept at my mom’s place and she drove me into the train station. Via Rail has new guidelines for carry-on luggage; 40lbs. My one suitcase was 39.2.  I was a little worried on the way up because I was taking a cab from the train station to the hotel ($70 btw) and when I got in the cab and told him where I was going, he turned to me and said “That’s in Markham?”  (0_o)

What the hell are you asking me for? You’re the cab driver!!!!!

Anyway, yes it is.

Had a great first day. Met Jen Wylie and Sean Hayden right off the bat. People look so much different in real life. Recognized Sean right away; the hair. I owe him a birthday drink. I’m going to help them out at their stand. They own Untold Press and are selling a pile of books. They’re stand looks really good too.

With everything going on, and yes, I got confused I did get to one seminar today; Whither the Dark Arts. It was about psychic detectives and magic verses science and whether you can combine the two or not. It was pretty cool. I came up with some good plot points for a story I’ve been messing around with—We Can See, which I might turn into a mystery crime solving duo…thing. My Muse is hinting at a series.

Ugh.

Went out to dinner with Brenda Carr and some of her WFC friends. I had Indian food for the first time. I’m such a spice wuss. Even the mild was too hot for me, but it was really good. Then my jaw started acting up and it was too painful to eat. That, and it’s just gross to hear it pop and snap while you’re eating. I’m so self-conscious about that. I figure because I can hear it so loud, everyone else can.

Wanted to go to one of the last seminars, but I forgot which room it was in and my feet were hurting so I called it a night.

So I came back to my room and typed this up.

Tomorrow looks really good. There are five seminars I want to get too. Now if I can just figure out how the alarm clock works…

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to World Fantasy Convention; Day One

  1. Sounds like a perfect day!

  2. Sounds like you’re having a blast. Hope you can take some muscle relaxants for your jaw. That happens to me too.

  3. E.b. Black says:

    I have so many problems with my jaw (and have all my life, despite the fact that I got a jaw surgery), so I can relate to how annoying and frustrating dealing with that is.

    Sounds like you’re having a good time though!

Leave a Reply

