World Fantasy Convention; Day Two

The hotel room alarm clock didn’t go off at 7am. I laid in bed for a while before curiosity got the better part of me and I checked the time. I didn’t sleep in that much, but it was still annoying that it didn’t work. Looks like these past weeks of rising at 6 am actually paid off. My internal clock is set to 6am.

Today’s panels were a myriad of fantasy that ran the spectrum. There were eighteen panels that ran from 9 am to 5pm (two every hour) and that didn’t include the thirty-six author readings or the mass book signing. I went to two panels on Gothic horror, one on Urban Fantasy and one on Steampunk.

The two on Gothic horror helped me to better understand the genre and how to write it. Unlike the other two, there is a perimeter in which the novel has to reside; certain characteristics that the story must have, in order to call it Gothic. I jotted down as much as I could but I’m not a fast writer. Hopefully I got enough to help me out on my Hallowell series.

The Defining Urban Fantasy panel was just the opposite, IMO, but that’s not a bad thing. It just means that as this genre became popular, more elements tended to creep in, giving it a new flavour. There’s nothing wrong with that, but the one thing that was strictly agreed upon—the story MUST be in an urban setting. Period. As Urban Fantasy merges with other genres, it will become increasing hard for the agent/publisher/bookstore to ‘label’ these novels. Which makes me wonder, who does this labelling really help? Decades ago there were two categories; Science Fiction and Fantasy. They also discussed how Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy were being fused(?) in that when you hear the word Urban Fantasy, you immediately think Paranormal romance. Oh, and I’m not saying who, but one of the panellist did say that Paranormal Romance is waning.

The Steampunk panel was the last one for me today. I have a feeling it will evolve the same way Urban Fantasy has, in that you won’t be able to accurately define it because it encompasses so many elements. Again, nothing wrong with that, but it will make the agent/publisher/bookstore confused as to where to place it.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to dinner.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to World Fantasy Convention; Day Two

  1. You make me wish I had a con to go to.

    Ref: Paranormal Romance is waning…
    Yeah, and for 30 years they’ve been saying vampires are passé. While I’m not fond of vampire fiction, there must be some market for it or they wouldn’t keep selling it.

    I’m always suspect of people who pronounce things obsolete. I’d need more definitive proof than anecdotal. Now if s/he’s a bean counter for Amazon, I’d pay attention. 🙂

  2. E.b. Black says:

    I’m very curious about the gothic horror! I hope you share some of what you learned with us evetually.

    Also, I’m glad you guys personally don’t think paranormal romance will ever go out of style. I don’t write about vampires, but many of my books still are paranormal because they have ghosts and necromancers and other similar things. I’m going to always write paranormal books whether they are popular or not, so I hope some people will buy them. 😄

    • I was very interested as well. I have a paranormal romance that I’m working on, and I wanted it to reflect the genre’s roots of Gothic horror. I got some GREAT descriptions on what Gothic horror should have in it, and yes, I will share. 😀

Leave a Reply

