Favourite Child Syndrome; Loving one writing project more than the others.

I never thought I’d succumb to this. I thought I was better than this, but with three WIP’s on the go, each in a different genre, I’m pretty sure it was bound to happen. I have developed a strong fondness for one WIP over the others. I feel embarrassed and I’m sure I’ve hurt some character’s feelings, but it wasn’t like I did it on purpose. It kind of…evolved.

I’m not one for favouritism in real life. I think it’s cruel and demeaning, but I can’t help it when one project speaks to me so much more than the others! I work on the favourite last as a way to force myself to work on the other two and make progress with them. This way there’s a nice satisfaction after I’ve written a thousand words on the ‘favourite’. For me, it’s like watching TMZ at the end of the day. A nice reward.

What is so appealing about this one WIP? Do I want this world I’m creating to be real? To actually exist so I can stroll through and get a real sense of what it’s like to live there? If anything it’s more dangerous than the worlds of my other two WIPs, so what’s the attraction?

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike the other projects, far from it, so you can understand my confusion when I became obsessed with this one group of characters. I’m putting the MC through hell right now, so I doubt the feeling is mutual and I know, once the others are complete I’ll be ever so excited about them again, but for now, my thoughts, my desires lie solely with this WIP.

Does this happen to you? How did you deal with it?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

8 Responses to Favourite Child Syndrome; Loving one writing project more than the others.

  1. I tend to work on one project at a time, but occasionally I am lured away with a killer idea I can’t ignore. I say write to what excites you most. When (or if) that river runs dry, you can always return to the first story.

    It does scatter your energy a little, but I think the writing is stronger when you’re passionate about one story over another.

  2. Hmmm. I always have the feeling my WIPs cringe when I open them. “Oh no, she’s back. She’ll get mad at me because she doesn’t know what to write.”

    They don’t look forward to my visits at all.

  3. If I didn’t have deadlines, this would probably happen to me. I try to work on two projects at a time, but lately it’s one project and a launch. Should be back to two shortly… I hope. Best of luck with not jilting the jealous characters. 🙂

  4. E.b. Black says:

    I used to write whatever I felt most passionate about at the time, but when you have book series, sometimes you have to work on projects that you are *as* excited about as other ones at the time.

Leave a Reply

