A Personal Observation – Do you suffer from FOMO?

F.O.M.O. — Fear Of Missing Out.

It’s become a new psychosis in today’s society. People checking and re-checking their voice-mail or email. Constantly logged in to Twitter and Facebook or any of the numerous social media places around the web. I will admit, I suffer from it a bit. I guess being a writer you fall into that habit, but as more people become attached to their mobile devices, are we exposing ourselves to unnecessary anxiety? Some people will say yes, and that we should monitor ourselves and our online activity.

Really? Has it come to this?

I admit, there are times that I spend too much time worrying about an unseen email or tweet, and Sithboy and I have this ‘who ever calls it first, gets it’ attitude about going online after we’ve been out for the evening (drives Husband nuts, btw), but is it a psychosis?  Aren’t we just being polite to those who message us first? I always hear people complain about the lack of manners now a days, isn’t responding promptly a sign of good manners? And how are we to reply if we don’t check every couple of hours or so?

ISP companies know our weakness; they thrive on it. They know we must keep a mindful eye on all our correspondence, that’s why they keep coming out with easier ways for us to log on into our accounts from mobile devices. Cell phones, tablets, laptops, ereaders, whatever device you purchase now, you can be assured that there is a program installed that will allow you smooth access to the internet and all those waiting messages.

After all, aren’t good manners is a sign of a strong civilization? Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to check my email.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to A Personal Observation – Do you suffer from FOMO?

  1. When letters took two or three days to reach you and before answering machines, we answered promptly because the people who messaged us were already waiting on an answer. But today with instant access, I don’t feel I need to jump on every email as soon as it reaches me. I find I make better decisions when I’ve had time to think about what the other person said.

    Of course, the down side is I get so much mail, sometimes emails get lost in the jumble and I forget to answer.

    I try to check my mail first thing in the morning, the last thing at night and at least once in the middle of the day (If I’m home).

Leave a Reply

