Are You Afraid of the Zombies?

Well, are you?

When I was twelve, I watched a movie called Children Shouldn’t Play With Dead Things. Scared the crap outta me. I didn’t have a good night sleep for three months. Sure, it was cheesy as Hell, but it was about DEAD PEOPLE!!! It was the first time I was really scared of something, but as I look at my offspring, I realize he’s not as frightened of movies like that. Not like I was.

Something changed over the years. Things that used to scare us have become likeable or even romanticised. Thanks to movies like Resident Evil, Zombieland, and The Walking Dead, people aren’t afraid of zombies anymore. At least, not the way they used to be. Like vampires, people see them a game of hunter/prey, and I understand that. What bothers me is what kind of horror will it take to frighten those who don’t scare easily. Will it be a supernatural being? Or something more mundane; something that is pulled from real life.

Just how far will future writers go to scare their audience? I don’t know, but I ain’t reading it. I like to sleep at night.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Are You Afraid of the Zombies?

  1. I stopped reading/watching horror decades ago. I’m happy to be a wimp. You bring up a good point about what will scare people in the future. I think these days, people get scared by those supernatural movies that leave a camera running to record what happens overnight. So I guess we need sort of reality-based, slasher stuff to keep people awake at night.

    I think gaming is responsible for a lot of the ho-hum factor. When you have to kill 100 zombies to get to level 2, they aren’t scary anymore.

Leave a Reply

