Friday Writing Update

The Watchtower Series: Tales of the Demon

Revisions, revisions. I haven’t read any of this; I just wrote and kept going, so reading the first few chapters again and I’m like ‘….Okay” What the hell was I thinking? Names have to be changed, and scenes have to be taken out, lowering my word count. Mind you, I’m just in the first few chapters. I’m pretty sure whatever I take out will be replaced with better being put in. Like I’ve said before, I’m not in any rush to put this out. I want it to be the best I can do.

I’m getting proofs for the print version for OF COVENS AND PACKS. I hope the purple is just as rich in print as it looks on the ebook version. I’ve heard some people say darker colours don’t show up well. I’m also at a loss as to how to price it. People keep saying check out other books like it and what they’re priced at, but anything I find in the paranormal category is all romance. Ugh, I don’t know.

 

Gothic Fiction Series: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

I finished chapter twelve this week. One more chapter and I’m done. DONE! Do you hear me?? DONE! That means this story will be finished before the holidays. Sweet! I wasn’t planning on getting a lot done come December 21 anyway. So far, it’s still thirteen chapters and it should clock in at over 50k. This is the first draft too, so that may rise, which is a good thing. I want to send it out to Indie publishing and many of them have a word count requirement of at least 50k.

 

Paranormal Steampunk Series: Gutterchild

I’ve finished chapter eight this week and added another chapter. Going into more detail has shown me more of the story, and it’s making me love it so much more. It’s up to eighteen now. I’m still toying with the idea of breaking this one book into two. Considering how much story I’ve got now (40k) and I’m only half way through, it might be a good idea. I’ve also added another book to the series as well, making five in the series. If I break the first into two, there will be six altogether. Then of course, there is the spin off books.

Ugh….

 

Script: Marked

I have to tell you. I’ve been working on my dark scifi scrip again. I was really upset because it’s a good idea, but I was stuck for the longest time. I got a lot of help from the wonderful Goatposse for helping me flesh out the plot problem. YOU GUYS ROCK!! Anyway, I’m really loving this project again and I’ve added it to my roster. Congratulate me, I’m going to have writer burnout sooner than expected now.

 

So how have the last couple weeks been for your writing?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

