Winter Solstice/Yule Ritual

I posted this last year and I love it so much that I’m not changing anything and doing the exact same rite for the Solstice. I put this together over a few days. It’s quick and easy, and the best part is that it is versatile.

~Disclaimer: The prayers and other parts I got from Scott Cunningham’s books, and the first part I got from a spell a day email I think from Llewellyn Books, but I can’t remember.~

Ritual

After a cleansing bath or shower, set up your altar so that it has a representation of the four elements (earth, air, fire, water), representation of the God and Goddess (candles or statues, or whatever you use), and a white candle in the center. There should be something for the Simple Feast. I like to combine food and objects, ie. using nuts and cookies for the Simple Feast as well as having them depict the element of Earth.

For this rite I used walnuts/cookies for the element of Earth.

Sandalwood incense for the element of Air

A small red candle for the element of Fire

A goblet of fruit juice to represent Water.

 

Light the God and Goddess candles (if any) and the red candle while saying out loud;

Longest night and shortest day,
Magic comes bright.
We gather now on this longest night,
Honoring darkness, praising light.
Dancers hail the
standing stones,
As growing solar light returns.
Ancient ones at Newgrange gathered,
Awaiting dawns first light.
Hidden tombs and
carvings old,
Illuminated by solstice
sunlight bright.
World round, grateful souls
Celebrate this night of returning light.
May we see this shaft of brilliance,
A sign of summer growing.
Cut the evergreen adornments,
And build the sacred fire to coax the Sun higher.
Yule log embers and torches bright,
Warm our dreams this magical night.
Memories and ancient secrets
Of the Druids come to me tonight.
May this increase my wisdom now,
The ancestors guide my spirit.
Magnifying brilliance and promises to come,
Spirals dance in solstice first light.
Visions planted, now on this night,
Grow strong and clear with the light.
Holly, mistletoe, ivy, pine,
Magic be, on this day.
So mote it be.

Stand before your altar and gaze at the candles. Say these or similar words.

I sorrow not, though the world is wrapped in sleep,

I sorrow not, though the icy winds blast,

I sorrow not, though the snow falls hard and deep,

I sorrow not, this too shall soon pass.

Light the white candle and say:

I light this fire in You honor,

Mother Goddess.

You have created life from death,

warmth from cold,

The sun lives once again; the time of light is waxing.

Welcome, ever-returing God of thr Sun

Hail Mothr of All!

Now comes the meditation. You can stand if you want, or sit. I sit on a chair just because getting up from the floor hurts my knees. Think about the warmth of the sun. Imagine it growing stronger, feel the warmth on your face and what the growing warmth will mean to you. After a time, stand again before your altar and say:

Great God of the sun.

I welcome your return,

May you shine brightly

upon the Goddess.

May you shine brightly

upon the Earth.

Scattering seeds and fertilizing

the ground.

All blessings upon you.

Reborn one of the Sun!

 

Traditionally, you do acts of magic here. Go ahead if you want. I say prayers for my family and what I hope for them for the coming year.

 

After my prayers, I thank the God and Goddess and sit down to eat the Simple Feast. I eat the nuts and cookies, acknowledging the nuts as the seeds of my intent for the new year, and the cookies as the product of my hard work. I drink the fruit juice and acknowledge the festive part of the season. When I’m done, I thank the God and Goddess for their presence.

 

Remember not to blow out the candles. Use a snuffer or pinch out the flames, and DON’T leave the candles unattended.

 

~Blessed Be~

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms of Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal is to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing, she spends her time collecting crystals, knitting, gardening, cooking and listening to very loud music.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.