Friday Writing Update

The Watchtower Series: Sympathy for the Demon (new title)

I’ve finished the revisions to the first five chapters. So far, the revisions put the new word count at just over 16k, with the overall word count at 44k. I crunched some number and figured out that I’ve added over 7k so far. Wow, this could be the longest book to date.

Gothic Fiction Series: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

I have begun the revision to this story. I don’t look forward to the re-structure, but it’s my own fault. I think though, it’ll be a stronger story for it. More conflict. I’ll probably have to do a couple passes with this one, but we’ll see. Hopefully there won’t be that much to rip apart.

 

Paranormal Steampunk Series: Gutterchilde

Did not finish the first draft of this by December 21. Didn’t even finish by January 1. I tried to write through the holidays but it was next to impossible. If you did, my hat off to you. I don’t know how you did it.

The New Year brought some new titles for the rest of the books. So here are the working titles of all eight (yes, I said eight) Steampunk novels in the series;

1. Gutterchilde

2. Wulfven

3. Fendora

4. Bonesucker

5. Stonebreaker

6. Wormonger

7. Rokowen

8. Apocalyde

3, 4, and 5 are iffy, I’m not sure if I’ll keep them or not but for now they’re fine. The other titles hint at the content of the story, so they stay.

So how is your writing coming? Did you write over the holidays or like me, just leave it?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

