Paranormal Sunday; Vampyres of THE WATCHTOWER

When I decided to add vampires to my novels, I wanted them to be traditional, but different. I thought for a while about how they could be original so I made a list of character traits found in many vampire stories, and went from there.

Vampires are an old monster. Myths about them have been around for centuries. I’ve always thought that creatures that old would be arrogant, but not in a mean sort of way. Living for thousands of years gives you a unique perspective on humanity. Something that a mortal person wouldn’t understand. I think they would feel detached from the century they were living in, which might come off as being cold, especially when it came to other beings.

How to tie them into the story? That was another problem. I had to include the main characteristic of a vampire-their need for human blood, so I looked up some myths about blood online. Blood has always been a mystical substance in all ancient cultures. Whether it’s the colour, texture or the fact it is within us and we need it to live. Also, I needed a way to relate some backstory. I remember watching a movie about a vampire that was actually Judas. His punishment for betraying Jesus was to be turned into a vampire. Same with Dracula-for renouncing God after the death of his wife. Turning humans into vampires would be a good punishment so that is how my vampires came to be. Punished for betraying the Gods.

As for why they were punished, well, you’ll just have to read and find out.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

8 Responses to Paranormal Sunday; Vampyres of THE WATCHTOWER

  1. Interesting. Are they all evil, or they basically “just folks” who made a few bad decisions?

  2. Good plotting! It’s really come together.

  3. Anita says:

    Darke, someday when I have time, I WANTS to read this. It shares a few similarities w/my Vampire novel (I wrote mine five years ago and hope to see it pubbed one day).

    Similarities being: 1) it’s set in the Victorian era, and 2) my vampires are human souls who escape from the city of Necropolis, and are then cursed by the gods to walk as soulless beings for eternity.

    I love unique spins on vampire mythos, and yours sounds AWESOME!

  4. kmcambion says:

    Ooh, sounds intriguing. I love a good vampire story.

Leave a Reply

