Friday Writing Update

It’s been an odd sort of writing week, the last few weeks. It seems as though all my WIP’s want attention, even the ones I haven’t looked at in years! Maybe it’s because of some recent developments. See, a few months back I subbed The Watchtower to Hydra, the new Random House/Penguin imprint. They were looking for previously published works so I thought what the hell! I did hear from them right away wanting to look at the full MS, but found out earlier last week it wasn’t what they were looking for. Ah well. That’s when these older stories started poking at me; making me interested in them again.

The Watchtower Series: Sympathy for the Demon (new title)

Slowly this is coming along. I’d like to have a nice chunk of it done by the end of the month. I’m going to push for an April/May release date. I’ve put another chapter in, so we’re up to thirteen, and there’s a good chance it could be over 50k.

Also, as of the beginning of February, I’ve put the first book in this series THE WATCHTOWER for free. Period. I know, I’ve gone back and forth on this, but I’ll have a fourth book out soon, not to mention the other ones I plan on putting out this year, so I can afford to put one free. Anyway, I’m just waiting for Amazon to change the price. In the meantime, if you have a Kindle and want to read it, download it from Smashwords.

 

Script: Marked

I finished the revisions on this and sent it out to two people I know who write scripts. I got some excellent feedback from the first person, and I’m waiting on the second person. So far, apart from the tech stuff and some minor plot holes, things look good!

 

NEW PROJECT ALERT!!!

Erotic Anthology: The Brie Diaries

Now that my first erotic short story is down (due to Oysters and Chocolate closing), I’ve been working on a whole series of short stories with Brie and her husband. So far, I have one story done and I’m working on the second. I think there will be six, but we’ll see.

Gothic Fairy Tales

After watching a trailer for Witch Hunters, I went online and did some research on old fairy tales.  I came across some obscure ones, and an idea came to me; to re-write a couple and see what they’re like. Of course I would give credit to the original writer, and if I were to publish them I would have to look up rights and that sort of thing, but that’s a way off. Some of these stories are hundreds of years old.

Blog Mini Series- The Carriers

I’ve had this idea floating around in my head for a while, and originally it was going to be in script form, but a few nights ago, I started writing some of it out and next thing I knew, I had about a thousand words. It was a nice opening scene, and the thought struck me, what if I did a mini-series; a scene of around 1k every couple of weeks? I worked out a breakdown for twelve  installments, and starting Tuesday I will post the first one. Mind you, I haven’t forgotten about Teaser Tuesday. The Carriers will run in between, and yes, I’m copyrighting each post.

 

So how is your writing coming along?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

