Mythical Wednesday: Curses

I love to swear, but that’s not what I’m talking about.

A curse is an expressed wish that harm or some kind of misfortune will come to an individual.
Curses are as old as civilization itself, and doesn’t only include people. Objects can be cursed or even a place.

Curses can be powerful, but only if you let them. If you think bad things will happen, then they will and that is what the person sending the curse is hoping for; that your life will be put into so much turmoil, that whatever they feel you’ve done, will be justified.

As superstitious as I am, I’m not sure if I believe in this. While I do believe it’s possible to manipulate energy fields (okay, that’s a post for a later date), the idea of someone directing bad energy my way for harm’s sake, curdles my goat. All curses are negative energy, and I waste good energy worrying about whether or not said curse is going to work. It’s a Catch 22 really, but I’m not going to belittle those who believe in them. I simply understand their reasoning.

I found this link of interesting curses:
http://listverse.com/2007/10/11/top-10-bizarre-curses/

So, do you believe in curses?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Mythical Wednesday: Curses

  1. Let me tell you a story: when we got to Maui a couple of weeks ago, there was a mix-up with the rental car. We were told to go back to the airport and take a taxi to a different car rental location. We were warned that the taxi driver would be unhappy because of the short fare, but not to worry about it.

    Well. To say our cabbie was “unhappy” puts the word into a whole new category. She was furious. We were in her cab for about ten minutes, and she never stopped complaining. Serious complaining, about the idiots at the car company, about losing a good fare to a hotel, about people renting cars…

    We tried to commiserate with her, although we did not apologize – none of this was our fault. She yelled right over our words, never listening. By the end of the ride, she was muttering to herself, and let me tell you, I had chills down my back. I had no doubt she was cursing us, along with the entire rental car agency. I’d never experienced such bad energy directed at me. All I could think to do was concentrate on rejecting it and try to keep it from landing on my or my husband. I couldn’t wait to get out of that cab. I was so relieved to see her drive away.

    Although the car fiasco only got worse from that point, it was eventually resolved, and the rest of the vacation was wonderful. So I think it’s possible to reject negative energy. I don’t practice a lot of spiritualism, but I do have respect for the energies of life, and when someone wishes you harm, you have to take steps to protect yourself.

    • Well I’m glad it didn’t ruin your vacation. The fact you fact everything worked out might have been because you refused to let her negativity stay on you. If she did curse you, you sent it right back. 😀

Leave a Reply

