Wednesday: Urban Legends; The Babysitter Story

Probably one of the most un-nerving Urban Legends has to be The Babysitter Story.

http://urbanlegends.about.com/od/horrors/a/The-Babysitter-And-The-Man-Upstairs.htm

A young babysitter is alone with her charge. The phone rings but there’s no one on the other end. The phone rings a few more times, always the same thing; no one answers. In the end, it’s discovered the caller is in the house, and the babysitter’s life is either in danger, or over.

I can honestly say this story haunted me when I was a teen and babysitting. It didn’t help much when they made a movie based on this Urban Legend.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0080130/

The frightening aspect of this story might be because the babysitter has no control over the situation, and there for is perfect victim. The legend has been around for over forty years, and as far as anyone knows, there is no truth to any of it, but that hasn’t stopped people from telling it.

Now a days, with calls easy to trace, a story like this might not be as scary as it once was.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Wednesday: Urban Legends; The Babysitter Story

  1. I don’t think this story was around when I was a babysitter. But then I only had two babysitting gigs. The first one was for a Chicago detective. Nobody messes with the cops. LOL. The other was for a millionaire’s kid in a high rise secured building. I found out then that I was not cut out for kids–at least not someone else’s kids.

    • I only had a couple as well, and one was a week long gig with people who had just bought a kitten. At the time, I was deathly allergic to cats. I thought I was going to die the first day.

      I remember the trailer for the original movie. Just watching it creeped me out.

  2. IndigoSage says:

    Strangely enough, now that I’m deaf – I get those dreaded someone’s in the house feelings. I’m in the shower and imagine I hear banging around downstairs etc., which naturally I can’t hear. I do suffer from a rare form of audio hallucinations (not everyone who becomes latent deaf is inflicted) thinking you hear when you don’t. It’s only because I used to be able to hear. And that’s why I have two very large dogs.

    Never really did the babysitting gigs, had 5 siblings I watched all the time and that was more than enough.(Hugs) Indigo

Leave a Reply

