Author Interview with E.B. Black

It is the middle of May, and once again I bring you another interview with a wonderful author. Maybe it’s the whole ‘spring romance’ thing, but my guest today writes romance. I see a trend beginning, but then romance is just that popular.

So let’s begin…

 

author1. Let’s get to know you a bit. Where are you from, and what genre do you write?

I’m a mountain girl. I moved to the mountains when I was young and still live there now.

Growing up around trees and snow, it’s no wonder that I love writing fantasy romance novels. When I walk around through the woods sometimes I feel like I’m in a fantasy setting, going on an adventure.

 

2. With all the risks and uncertainty around publishing, what was it that drew you to a career in writing?

My last two years of high school, I was home schooled. It made learning one of the most exciting things in the world to me. I helped my Mom plan my curriculum, decided what subjects and text books sounded the most interesting to me, and got to go on field trips and activities that I loved. I learned more in those two years of home school than I learned in all my years of public school.

I knew because of that experience that it’s easier to work if you love what you do. I was more likely to be successful in a field that I loved than doing something that I felt like I had to do. I wanted to be a writer so it would be easy to throw my whole heart and energy into my work.

I spent a lot of years of my life reading books on my own rather than doing my homework when I was in public school. I knew I had a passion for the written word and daydreaming.

I also hoped to have a career where I could be there for my family at the same time I was working. Family is extremely important to me.

 

3. What would you say, is the best thing about writing fantasy romance?

Most fantasy stories are about characters fated to save the world or go on an adventure. Most romance stories are about a couple fated to be together. Fantasy Romance combines the two. It allows characters to explore both a relationship and an adventure in an epic way together.

 

4. Is it difficult to keep your stories fresh and interesting?

Fantasy has so many possibilities. Literally, my imagination is the limit. It’s something I love about fantasy, there are so many new worlds and cultures to explore that there’s always something new and exciting to find.

 

5. What things influence your writing? And have you ever written them into a story?

There are two things that inspire my writing. One is other writers. When one of their stories touches me deeply, it usually inspires me as well.

The other things is experiences or feelings I’ve had in life. Also, people I’ve met.

One person who reviewed my novel, Medusa’s Desire, talked about the great sense of injustice in the book. Around the time I wrote it was when my house had burned down and someone I lived with had died, so I was feeling a great sense of injustice about the world at the same time because of that experience and some things I was watching my friends go through as well.

 

6. What books (if any) have influenced you over the years?

A lot of books have influenced me, it’s difficult to choose. The Harry Potter series really ignited my love of fantasy novels, though. And the Twilight series taught me that you can have both romance and fantasy/paranormal elements in a book and it still work.

 

7. Let’s talk a little about your latest project. What was the inspiration (if any) behind this story?

I’m working on a lot of things right now. One story I am working on, I created based on a picture I saw on Facebook about how a bunch of women would like to read a story where the main character fell in love with them. I decided I’d give it a try.

 

8. Most writers have manuscripts that will never see the light of day. Do you have a few of those or will they eventually come out? 

I have several of those. I know they will never come to light because I deleted them off of my computer. They were more practices for me. I became a better writer through them and learned a lot about what it takes to write a fantasy novel.

 

9. If you were given the opportunity to write a fan-fiction novel, who is the author you would choose, and what would be the book?

I would write Harry Potter fan-fiction from J.K. Rowling. I’d love to get to know that world even more and I’d love to find out what happens to the children of all the main characters. I imagine they go on their own adventure as well.

 

10. What advice would you give to a new author who wants to write?

Sit down and write everyday. Being a writer is about making the time regularly to write. You’ll get better automatically through practice, so don’t sweat it if you’re writing isn’t perfect.

 

To learn more about this month’s author, please click the links below.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ebblackauthor

Blog: http://deathauthor.blogspot.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/writerblack

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6586070.E_B_Black

Main web-site: http://www.ebblack.com/

 

Links to Pandora’s Mistake:

pandoraAmazon: http://www.amazon.com/Pandoras-Mistake-Fate-Series-ebook/dp/B00BRQINMI/

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/pandoras-mistake-eb-black/1114843842?ean=2940044370661

Itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/pandoras-mistake-fate-eros/id619965854?mt=11

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/293935

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

