It’s summer! Garden time! With pictures!

The only thing that gets me through the long cold winter is the knowledge that come spring, my gardens are going to come alive! We’re doing a veggie garden again, and so far, things look good!

 

Flower Garden

pic1

 

Here is the front garden this year. It’s filled out quite a bit more than last year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

pic2

 

 

Husband’s Grandmother’s lupines’ came up and they look beautiful!

 

 

 

 

 

pic3

 

 

White and Blue Forget-me-not’s from my Mother’s garden.

 

 

 

 

 

pic4

 

 

I can’t remember the name of this flower, but it’s flowers are a burnt orange.

 

 

 

 

 

pic5Impatient, but it’s stuck in the shadow of the neighbour plant, so I’m not sure how big it’s going to get.

 

 

 

 

 

 

pic6My Deep Purple petunias. I love these! The colour is so dark and rich.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pic7My peonies. The plant is so top heavy once the flowers come out. I put a tomato cage around them, but even that can’t keep them up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

pic8I forget the name of this flowering bush, but it’s so beautiful and full of blooms.

 

 

 

 

 

 

pic9Our Mesquite tree in bloom. So beautiful.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pic10We put red and white petunias in the two barrels and I’m hoping the over-run the barrel by July 1st.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Veggie Garden  

We’re only doing veggies we know we can grow. No more experiments for us. I took this picture the other day. The weeds are going to be bigger by the time I get back to weeding it.

1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2Front-yellow peppers, middle and back-tomatoes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3Onions. Nothing but onions. Big, small, red.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4Two rows of radishes at the back and a row of lettuce.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5Two rows of carrots. Now I did get in and do some weeding last weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6Squash and cucumbers. We have early squash and butternut.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7I also put in some beans and peas along the fence. The beans were self-sowing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are you growing this year?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

10 Responses to It’s summer! Garden time! With pictures!

  1. Your flowers look beautiful. This year I’m putting more effort into flowers too, especially the kind that attract butterflies and bees.

    Is that orange flower lantana maybe? It was hard to tell from the picture.

  2. Very nice! You’re work is paying off. My fingers are crossed for bountiful veggies!

    • Thanks! So are mine! Especially when it comes to the carrots. We planted them the first year and it was a disaster. They were all stunted and what not. I’m hoping this year is better.

  3. Joyce Alton says:

    So gorgeous! That white flowering bush looks a lot like one I have, a spirea. Hard to tell without getting a closer look, though. =) I agree with you about the color of those petunias – wow!

    • You know what, I think that’s what it is–a spirea. Our neighbour down the way has a bush and it’s HUGE!

      I discovered those dark petunias a few years back and have had them in my garden ever since. 😀

  4. Hi Darke,

    I think it’s spirea too! I have a huge one and I love it. it’s so beautiful and it’s great coverage. Lovely photos 🙂 We’re doing the straw bale gardening this year for our veggies and actually growing potatoes for the first time in chicken wire filled with straw (you keep covering the leaves as they emerge and the potatoes grow up instead of out. I’m hoping for good things!

    Julie

    • That sounds so interesting, Julianne! We’ve thought about putting chicken wire up too, to keep the critters out, but I’ve found if I get in and touch the ground with my hands, my scent seems to keep them away. Or so I hope.

  5. How pretty! It’s dark and gloomyi here today. I want to turn the heaters on. Seriously. But it’ll be 80 this weekend, so I’ll enjoy being cold while it lasts.

Leave a Reply

