Author Interview with Samantha Warren

A little late this month. Must be the heat. This month I bring you an interview with fantasy author Samantha Warren, who has a pet dragon – Anethesis!  How freakin’ cool is that!

So let’s begin… 

Hat-black glasses1. Let’s get to know you a bit. Where are you from, and what genre do you write?

I live in upstate New York, surrounded by cows and cats. I tend to stick to the fantasy genre (paranormal romance, contemporary, epic, etc), but I’m working on a zombie western right now, too.

2. With all the risks and uncertainty around publishing, what was it that drew you to a career in writing?

I didn’t know about any of the risks and struggles that came with writing when I started my first book. I really don’t know what made me start at that particular moment. It was November, so NaNo was on, and I guess I just loved the story so much, that I had to finish it.

3 Let’s talk a little about your latest project. What was the inspiration (if any) behind this story?

My most recent project is a zombie western. Someone on twitter posted about a dream they had where zombies attacked a wagon train. She said “Someone needs to write this book!” I immediately called dibs. Of course, it’s morphed a lot and no longer has a wagon train, but it’s still going to be awesome. [Considering the popularity of zombies right now, it should be! ~Darke]

4. What things influence your writing? And have you ever written them into a story?

I’m a big fan of fantasy, so I watch a lot of movies and read a lot of books in that genre. It’s inevitable that whatever movies or books I’m hooked on while writing work their way in somehow.

5. What was the biggest surprise for you when you started NaNoWriMo?

It was actually easier than I thought it would be. And it was during NaNo when I realized I really wanted to be a writer. I was substitute teaching and I was sitting there thinking “I really want to get home so I can finish reading that story and find out what happened.” Then I realized it was my story and I hadn’t written the “what happened” yet.

6. You write in many genres. Is there one you prefer more over the others?  

It really depends on what kind of mood I’m in. I go through periods where I prefer one genre over the other. Right now, it’s my zombie western. It tends to coincide with the books I’m reading, especially if I’m reading a really great one.

7. I’m really interested in this zombie western idea. Would you mind explaining a bit of the world you’ve created?

Sure! It takes place just after the Civil War. There are bands of soldiers roaming the west, and one of them slaughters the camp of Little Bear and Summer Rain. Little Bear vows revenge and asks for help from the gods, but we’re all familiar with the phrase “Be careful what you wish for.” He gets his revenge, but gets turned into zombie in the process. Charity Banks is a transplant from the east coast and really hates the west. But when she gets turned into a zombie, she realizes she can manipulate the lesser-minded zombies and creates her own little army with a plan to rule the west and become a queen of sorts. The good guy, Connor McClane is sheriff of Lonesome Ridge, one of the towns Charity sets her sights on. But he’s not willing to go down without a fight.

8. What do you feel is the biggest drawback to the PR scene? 

The PR scene is really oversaturated right now, so it’s hard to make yourself stand out.

9. Is there one genre in particular that you would like to write? Something you would find a challenge?

This zombie western is a challenge. I normally stick to fantasy. So this will be a first for me. While it technically is fantasy, it falls more in the horror genre. I have trouble distinguishing the horror genre from other categories, though. When I was talking to a friend one day, they mentioned that 28 Days Later is horror. My response was “Pfft, that’s not horror.”

10. Was there any one influence that made you want to write?

There wasn’t one influence that really made me want to write. I never really considered writing as a viable option until about 2010. Then, for some reason that still is unknown to me, I decided to write Blood of the Dragon, my first full-length novel. It’s been an addiction ever since.

 

41fe76bed844ce32dbe81a780c1aa623ae3c8b1b-thumbFacebook: http://www.fb.com/authorsamanthawarren

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/_samanthawarren

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/samantha-warren

Website: http://www.samantha-warren.com

The Iron Locket links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CC0JN72

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-iron-locket-samantha-warren/1115128429?ean=2940016693866

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/306908

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/iron-locket-risen-king-book/id638562403?mt=11

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Author Interview with Samantha Warren

  1. Where in NY? I grew up in WNY, waving at Fort Erie, ONT. No, to zombies in the west. 🙂

Leave a Reply

