A Tarot Reading.

I found this very good article on the history of Tarot cards.

http://www.tarot-decks.com/tarotarticle.htm

As someone who has used them, you would be surprised just how much they really can denote certain situations. Granted, it’s all in the way the reader interprets the cards, but I’ve found that by just explaining what each card in the spread means, connects to the situation the reader is asking about.

1The deck I used is called The Mythic Tarot. I keep the cards wrapped in the spread cloth it came with and the two stones are amethyst and Lapis Lazuli. Yes, those are my ugly toes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2I did up a quick spread this afternoon. There are dozens of tarot spreads, and this has the most I’ve ever seen.

http://www.psychic-revelation.com/reference/q_t/tarot/tarot_spreads/

The spread I generally use is called The Celtic Cross, but after finding the above link, I think I’ll try a few of them. Some of the pictures are blurry. Sorry.

 

 

3The first card is called the Covering Card. This card reflects the present situation.

The Six of Swords-Moving away from trouble, finding balance.

 

 

 

 

 

4The Second card is called the Crossing Card. It’s what ‘crosses’ you; any obstacles or opposition.

The Emperor – Authority and control

 

 

 

 

 

5The third card is called the Crowning Card and it implies things that will happen in the immediate future.

The Fool – New developments, fresh starts, taking risks.

 

 

 

 

 

6The fourth card is called The Base of the Matter and depicts the basis of the overall situation, often unknown.

The Three of Wands (blurry, sorry) – Business success, leading a group.

 

 

 

 

 

7The fifth card is called Past Influences and describes the situation that the reader has left.

Eight of Pentacles (blurry, sorry) New job, studies, working with a hobby.

 

 

 

 

 

8The sixth card is called Forthcoming Influences and depicts what the reader will experience in the next few months

Page of Swords – Reflects an abundance of energy, passion and enthusiasm.

 

 

 

 

 

9The seventh card is called Where One Finds Oneself and is an extension of the first card.

Six of Wands – Public success or recognition.

 

 

 

 

 

10The eight card is called Views of Others, and describes our image or how others see us

Three of Swords – Anxiety, unhappiness, separation.

 

 

 

 

 

11The ninth card is called Hopes and Fears and the one card can represent both.

Page of Pentacles (blurry, sorry) News about money or a job. Study for a job.

 

 

 

 

 

12The tenth card is called the Final Outcome,

The High Priestess – Hidden motives, intuitions, inner wisdom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, with all this information here’s what I read.

I’m coming out of a period of tight self-imposed restrictions and into some place where I can relax. True. Husband and I have been watching our budget for quite a while and Husband has been working side jobs like crazy for the last few months, and we’re looking at some ‘mad’ money near the end of the this month. We want to put a deck on our house so we can enjoy the backyard more, not to mention doing a few more renovations to the house before cold weather sets in. It could also mean that I’ll be getting enough money from book sales to put out two more books this year, as I hoped.

Each and every one of these cards can relate to those two situations in my life. Now granted there will be some who say I ‘read’ what I wanted too, but I think the Tarot is pretty specific about what it wants to say.

What do you think? Do you believe the Tarot can help guide, or is it just for fun?       

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to A Tarot Reading.

  1. RSAGARCIA says:

    I think it can be both. I’ve never had a reading or even seen a real tarot deck, but my family has always been a bunch of dreamers. We dream and we interpret. My grams was the best of us, but she’s passed on, rest her soul. She often comes by to give me a headsup though. Saw her just two nights ago.

Leave a Reply

