Supernatural Sunday; Demons of THE WATCHTOWER—Scraylings

I love putting a new twist into an old monster, but I also like creating them. Now-a-days it’s hard to come up with something original; all the monsters are pretty well known, so that why I was really excited when the idea for a scrayling came to mind.

In my paranormal novels, scraylings are the grunts of Hell. They’re incredibly tall with a stalky, muscular build. They’re strong as hell and can fly, with each wing almost as long as their body. Muscular arms and legs give strength to sharp talons on their hands and feet, and they can rip the flesh of anything. They are completely obedient to their masters, and will carry out their order even if it means their death.

I got the idea from watching Scooby Doo! Seriously. Just picture this guy more…you know scary.

scoobydoo

Another difficult thing is naming said creature.  Again, most monsters are named and using a variations is always good to put your own personal mark on it, but this name just jumped out on to the paper. I was sure I’d heard it before, but when I Googled the name, I found nothing.

Does this mean I’ve created a new monster? Probably not, but it’s nice to think I did, so look out world, scraylings are on the loose, and you don’t want to run into one of these bad boys in a dark alley.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Supernatural Sunday; Demons of THE WATCHTOWER—Scraylings

  1. I like it. But I hope they’re more ominous than the one you have pictured. Maybe something with genitals–perhaps concealed under a web of skin. And something other than pink. 🙂

    • I know. I debated on whether or not I should put the picture in, but I figured this is where I got the idea, so what the hell! Mind you, I’m wondering how many people will picture this guy instead of the creature I described.

  2. RSAGARCIA says:

    I like it a lot. At the moment, I have a lot of monsters to people my current WIP with, but they are from my Caribbean culture mostly. I also have stuff inspired by African and Asian culture. I don’t think all monsters are pretty well known. I think Western culture has passed on a lot of knowledge about their monsters. But when you think of Thai culture, for example, where a monster can be a hopping vampire, or an invisible something that sits on your back and consumes everthing you put in your mouth, leaving you starving no matter how much you eat–or African culture, where the Impundulu is a supernatural bird, large as a human, that can summon storms, and tends to drink human blood–I think there’s still a lot of wierdness out there that hasn’t been explored.

    • When I was researching monsters for my paranormal series, I came across quite a few good ideas, but nothing I could put into the series. A couple I’m putting in my Steampunk.

Leave a Reply

