Friday Writing Update

This has been a long time coming. It’s been seventeen weeks, just over four months since I did a writing update. Wow. I didn’t think it was that long. I’ve managed to get some writing done, but not as much as I do when Sithboy is in school, and not as much as I hoped. Summer has too many distractions and not enough quiet time. I couldn’t write upstairs either because it’s still a mess from renovating the spare room and I have no place to plug in my laptop. The summer wasn’t a complete loss, I may not have written as much as I wanted too, but I did get some things done.

 

The Watchtower Series: Omens and Portends (Book Five)

This story is going to be darker that the others, especially when it comes to Daniel. His backstory is coming out, and there’s more than one reason why they put a spell on him. The revealing scene was hard to write, partly because I had no idea how to word it, but also, it’s Daniel. I always considered him the heart of the group. Writing out his past was intense. I just hope people understand. Good thing about this revelation, I’ve come up with scene idea’s for his side novel. That’s always a good thing.

I’m looking at getting book five and the first side novel ready for the holiday season. Gift cards are still a great present, and I’m hoping to cash in on the post-holiday spending. I can’t really work on the side novel until a rough draft of book five is done. Ugh.

The Watchtower is doing great in the free category. Not a month goes by that it doesn’t make it into the top 100. That makes me feel good. What’s also good is that I have sales of my other books as well, enough so that I should be getting a payment from Amazon soon.

Scifi Series: The Carriers

I fell a little behind on this. I blame the hot weather. I’d like to get the last few parts done, wrap up the chapter and then start again with a new chapter it in the New Year. I think I have three or four parts left to write. It’s been a wonderful experiment for writing short fiction. I really should keep it up.  

 

Gothic Romance Series: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

Oh Goddess, where do I start with this one? I’ve been revising this story like crazy. I want to send it off to Indie press when it’s done, but it is such a mess. I thought about an agent, but I’m not sure. YA is still so hot, and with the new Twitter hashtag #mswl all I see is calls for YA or MG or even NA. Rarely do I see Adult. There are some Indie sites that publish Adult. I’ll have to make a list in a few months.

Steampunk Series: Gutterchilde

Another novel that I’m ripping apart.  I decided to put this in more of a familiar setting rather than make up a world. I don’t know why I didn’t think about this before. For this series, it will take place in Upper Canada. I also want to explore the world during the Victorian Era and visit places that aren’t normally written into Steampunk. One story will take them to France, another to India, and another to China. The final books will be more fantastical as it happens in Atlantis.

I still want to get my Steampunk zombies in there, somewhere…

Short Story: Date Night

I sent this out to an erotic anthology a few weeks back. Still waiting for a reply. No biggie if it doesn’t get accepted. I’ll just go back to the original plan and have it the first short in my own erotic anthology.

NEW PROJECT ALERT!!!

Yes, there’s a new project on the horizon, and it’s another Steampunk. I’ve already outlined some of the plot and three of the characters, but this won’t be erotic. There may be love scenes, I’m not sure, but I’ll fade to black if I do. With this story, I want to focus on the fantastical with brooding characters, sexy villains, weird gadgets and some interesting twists and turns. Oh yes, and the two main characters are in their late forties. Yeah, I can’t write for popular trends.

So how is your writing coming along? Have you written a lot this summer?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

