SciFi Sunday; I’m so confused…but in a good way!

coollogo_com-17269436Decades ago, when I developed a fondness for Science Fiction there was only one kind of setting—outer space. We had Star Trek and Battlestar Galactic (both original series, yes I’m that old) and the scifi movies were space/alien theme. Science Fiction was just…well…science fiction; a small glimpse into a possible future. It was memorizing to a child of ten, to see all the possibilities. It really made me curious about the world around me. Opened my eyes and my mind to unlimited possibilities. It was a magical time for me. Something I’ll always look back on with fondness.

Over  the years Science Fiction has grown to include numerous sub-genre’s. I came across this as I was doing some research.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outline_of_science_fiction

Characteristics, movements, era’s, combinations, it’s enough to make my head spin, and if that didn’t confuse me enough, I found this…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Science_fiction

So many categories, so many possibilities for the imagination to take off and soar. There is something for everyone with the addition of these sub-genre’s, and the little girl inside of me is tickled with anticipation!

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to SciFi Sunday; I’m so confused…but in a good way!

  1. I’m a little surprised they’ve given special banners to something that always lived under the hard SF umbrella. Like biopunk or Cli fi. I guess it doesn’t matter. To me it’ll always be soft, hard, or fantasy-sf.

    • I think it has to do with agents/publishers trying to find markets? I don’t know, but I have a feeling with the onset of self-publishing, the banners are going to become more diverse. Which isn’t a bad thing, but just harder for writers to figure out what kind of story they’re writing.

Leave a Reply

