Author Interview with Anne Michaud

I’ve met many authors in the last few years, many of whom I’ve connected with right away, and Anne Michaud is one. Whether it’s our love for dark fiction, Gothic culture or the fact we’re both wading into the publishing pool, there is un petit quelque chose about our friendship and I am pleased to bring you my interview with her.

So let’s begin…

 

HS-Anne_Michaud 1. Let’s get to know you a bit. Where are you from, and what genre do you write?

I’m from a small town on Montreal south shore – I live between a mountain, a river and a cemetery:) It fits quite nicely with my dark horror stories: I just need to look outside and feel inspired. It’s a shame the tombs aren’t haunted, too – now that would have made a nice story, non?

 

2. With all the risks and uncertainty around publishing, what was it that drew you to a career in writing?

Nothing but the hunger to write. I want to make a living out of my passion, but that dream might never happen. So what is a girl with voices in her head to do? I write anyway and hope and pray and wish… and we never know. I might live the dream like I might never do, but at least I’ll have books on my name on it.

 

3. What inspired you to write Girls and Monsters?

I had a bunch of homeless short stories that I always loved but never found the right market to send them off to, so I decided to lengthen them into longer pieces for a collection. When I realized the two main themes, I also had found my title: girls and monsters. As for each story’s inspiration, I take a lot from my dreams – like directly, beat by beat – which are better than real life, most of the time.

 

4. What about dark fiction inspires you?

Well, it’s a way to look at things, I think. I mean, I’ve never been the type of girl who waited for some prince to come and save me – I’ve always been able to save myself. Life isn’t all rainbows and puppies, and since I’ve always been told to write what I know, well… And I love the night and everything that lives in it: no princesses and sparkling vampires, but monsters waiting to feed on your soul.

 

5. As a reader, what are some things that attract you to a story?

There’s got to be action or for the characters to actively seek their goals. Things got to move at a good pace and if they slow down, then there’s got to be some crucial moments going down. I’m quite allergic to lovey-dovey crap, so if it’s too romantic, you lose me. Really, anything that moves but isn’t sparkly.

 

6. Have you always been fascinated by darker fiction?

I’ve always prefered dark movies and books, even as a young kid. I read Christian F. and The Stranger when I was 10, I saw Blade Runner, 1984 and The Shinning at that same age, and it made me realize that fairytales were invented as an escape more than anything. And vampires live in the dark, so what’s not to love? Give me a bloody moon and you’ll have my little black heart in a second.

 

7.Is there a genre that you would like to write? Something you would find a challenge?

Not really. Writing is always a challenge and I do believe in writing what you want to read, so whichever projects I start, whichever genre it is, I don’t make it easy on myself and wouldn’t write if I did. I’m a “bring it on” kinda gal, so the bigger the challenge, the more motivated I am to see it finished and be satisfied with it.

 

8. You also write scripts. Is there a project you’re working on now?

I am working on a little something-something, but it’s secret. So here are some clues: it’s an old screenplay of mine but twisted into a TV series; it’s dark and creepy à la Lynch; I’m not working alone on it, and that someone lives in La-la Land. We’re just starting off, so it might fall into a big pile of poo, but I’m keeping my hopes up:)

 

9. What do you like about script writing? What do you dislike?

I love how direct and urgent screenwriting has to be – you can’t linger, you have to move and fast. I also love the challenge of showing through action who the characters are, how they feel and what they try to hide. What I don’t like is that you lose your precious baby once it’s handled to the director/actors/DOP/DA, that some of your favorite things get cut on the editing floor because it didn’t fit in the story, anymore. And nobody tells you, you have the nice surprise on the screen, which is not so nice, really.

 

10. Was there any one influence that made you want to write?

Not one, but many. I feel in love with Boris Vian L’Écume des Jours when I was very young, about the same time our French teacher (still the best teacher I ever had) taught us about my darling Rimbaud and his sad poems. Then I read everything by George Orwell and his dark worlds; Anne Rice made me dream of rock and roll vampires with bite; Neil Gaiman made me want to die and be with Morpheus. I love them all, still read these books every year.

 

She who likes dark things never grew up. She never stopped listening to gothic, industrial and alternative bands like when she was fifteen. She always loved to read horror and dystopia and fantasy, where doom and gloom drip from the pages.

She, who was supposed to make films, decided to write short stories, novelettes and novels instead. She, who’s had her films listed on festival programs, has been printed in a dozen anthologies and magazines since. Dark Fuse published her first collection of dark short stories for young adult, Girls & Monsters.

G&MCOVERShe who likes dark things prefers night to day, rain to sun, and reading to anything else.

She blogs http://annecmichaud.wordpress.com

She Facebooks: http://www.facebook.com/annecmichaud

She tweets @annecmichaud

Buy it on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CCQ1Q6W

Girls & Monsters Goodreads page: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17335353-girls-monsters

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Author Interview with Anne Michaud

  1. Anne Michaud says:

    Thank you so much for having me, mon amie Darkey♥

  2. My pleasure! We must do it again when your next project is released!

Leave a Reply

