How to Expose Yourself the Right Way, Part Three

coollogo_com-23326655Blogs!

Just about every writer out there has a blog. It’s a given if you’re in this line of work. I’ve had several people ask me how to make on or what should they blog about, and the answer is as varied as the person who asks, but here’s my two cents.

Make the blog about YOU. With every writer having a blog, you need some way to make yours unique. Some authors post their opinions on writing and how they go about their craft, and that’s fine, but if you want to attract readers to your blog who AREN’T writers, you may have to get a bit more personal.

Yes, I hear you groaning. Look, it’s as simple as this; if you market to writers, you’ll get writers, but that’s limiting yourself and the potential of attracting new readers. It’s readers who AREN’T writers that you want. Those are the fans that will keep coming back for more of your books. The ones that retweet or blog about how great it was. They don’t care about the whole process, they just want to read your latest work, and you attract them by making a connection with them outside of your book.

I like to garden, knit, cook and a few other things, so I blog about that. I like movies so I blog about movies I’ve watched. Same with books. With so many authors vying for a reader’s attention, it’s the author that CONNECTS with the reader that wins.

What do you do to connect with readers?

Here’s Part One: https://darkeconteur.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/how-to-expose-yourself-the-right-way/

Here’s Part Two: https://darkeconteur.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/how-to-expose-yourself-the-right-way-part-two/

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to How to Expose Yourself the Right Way, Part Three

  1. nemune says:

    Wow, this is a great post. You’re right about the readers, sometimes I forget to broaden my perspectives when I’m posting. Thanks for this.

    • Yes, we need to connect to as many people as possible, and sometimes that means getting a little personal. Not too personal, though. Hobbies and interests are a great way to do that. 😀

  2. You’re preaching my mantra! 🙂

    I write about things that interest me. I figure if it interests me, I’ll meet similar (brilliant) minds.

Leave a Reply

