October Writing Update

Okay, summer is over and I’ve muddled through September and most of October, now is the time to get down to work.

The Watchtower Series: Omens and Portends (Book Five)

Working on chapter five now. This has been slow going and I’m not sure why. I have the outline done, it’s just a matter of getting the story out.  I think my biggest concern is making sure I follow all the little plotlines I’ve started with the last four books. I don’t want to overwhelm the reader, so trying to figure out what to put in and what to leave out has been a somewhat daunting task.

Gothic Romance Series: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

Cut-paste. Cut-paste. I’m on chapter nine of this story and that’s a major amount of what I’ve been doing. I knew when I started the revision that it would be a pain in my ass, but I didn’t think it would be this bad. Holy crap! One good thing, this revision is making the overall story stronger, and that’s always a good thing.

Steampunk Series: Arlington Creed and the Case of the Marinated Mariner (For Anthology)

I put GUTTERCHILDE on hold while I work on this new Steampunk series. The series title is THE MAN FROM D.U.D.E, and I’ve got a couple novel idea’s simmering away. I think this will be more of a stand-alone novel series. I think it’ll be like the old Scooby Doo cartoons you know, where it looks like it’s paranormal, but there’s a logical explanation as to what happened. I will work on GUTTERCHILDE later. That series is detail heavy and I’m still working out some things with it, plus, I want to get at least this first D.U.D.E story done and see how I feel about it before I continue.  I started it after I was asked to be part of a Steampunk anthology (one of two, btw), but as this story unfolds, I have a feeling it’s going to pass the 10k word count limit.

Short Story: Untitled Demon Slayer (For Anthology)

I was asked to submit a short story for the new 7DS anthology about slayers. They have several other anthologies based on the 7DS logo (7 Deadly Sins, 7 Dress Sizes, etc) so I am really excited. It’s finished at just over 6k and I used a fight scene that I had written for a defunct short. I hope it fits right. To me it does, but we’ll see. Also, it’s got a twist ending, and if I worked it right, you won’t catch it until the end.

 

So how is your writing coming along? Has the fall weather dampened your creative energy?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to October Writing Update

  1. Hey, at least you have lots to choose from. I’m a one-job-at-a-time person. Winter is when I do most of my writing since that’s when it slows down for me on the farm.

    • Wait, the farm slows down? I bet Barbecue will have something to say about that. 😀 I tried doing one at a time and it never lasts. If I do a little on each every day, I find Muse is quiets down.

Leave a Reply

