And now…the end is near…

…end of the growing season, that is.

I did have pictures for this post, but I forgot to take them off Husbands phone.

Fall is in full bloom up here. The leaves have turned and most of the trees are bare. The nights are much cooler and the birds are flocking together. I’ve even had the wood stove going a few times. I live in a small farming community so the field equipment is out in full force too. So here’s how my growing season racked up.

Veggie Garden

What a mess. I lost complete control of the veggie garden right around the middle of July. I had good intentions and didn’t buy as many plants as before, but we had two weeks of rain followed by one week of good weather, then another two weeks of rain. By the time I got back out to the garden the damn thing had gone wild. My tomato plants took up half the garden (I couldn’t find my cages anywhere) and the vine plants too up the other half. Anything in the middle was either choked out, or in the case of my carrots—munched on.  I really thought I was going to have a good crop of carrots, but something came and ate the fleshy part of the stalk where the stalk meets the root. All of them, gone. The squash we planted gave several fruit, but we had an infestation of some kind of aphid-looking bug but that that was that. By the time they were ready to be harvested, all but one had holes in them. I’m not even sure I want to do a veggie garden next year.

Flower Garden

Another out of control garden. Last year when I planted the perennials, they looked good. This year, they took over so much that you couldn’t see the annuals I had. A couple plants were so tall that when it rained they leaned over the walk way and Husband almost wiped out. We’re going to transplant them this weekend (weather permitting). They need more room than the small area in front of the house.

How was your growing season?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to And now…the end is near…

  1. If only we could move weather where we need it. We could’ve used some of your rain. Dry conditions + grasshoppers nearly wiped us out. I started again in the fall, a more modest garden but at least it’s thriving. The question is, do I have enough warm weather to harvest from my warm weather plants?

    I remember your perennials from last year. They were gorgeous. I hope you can transplant.

    • Thanks Maria. I’m not sure if I got a picture of the flowers when they were in bloom, but they were really beautiful. They’re calling for rain this weekend. Hopefully we can get them moved before the ground goes hard.

Leave a Reply

