A Writing Update

To all my writer friends doing NaNoWriMo—KEEP GOING! YOU CAN DO IT!

The Watchtower Series: Omens and Portends (Book Five)

How is this for a new title; THE PROPHECIES OF MORTALS. I came up with the new title last week. Still not sure yet and I may come up with something else.

Finished chapter last week and steadily working on chapter seven. I think this story is going to be the longest one I’ve written so far. I’m up to 30k and still have at least another six chapter. At first I thought I’d have ten more, but I’ve combined a few. Still, the first draft isn’t complete so I really have no idea the length. It would be great to get this book, and THE SAINTS OF BELVEDERE ROAD out early in 2014.

I’m finding some interesting side-plots as well as things for the rest of the books, including a more solid plot for the second stand-alone novel. So many twists and turns, and yes there will be some character deaths. Right now, I have it pegged at four.

 

The Hallowell Island Series: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

Another couple more chapters and this revision will be done! I’m really excited about it too. I’d like to have the whole thing done by the end of this month then start edits and what not in December, and start sending out the query letter in January. I’ve been looking at some Indie publishers and have a nice variety to submit too. Some seem perfect placement, but time will tell.

I’ve been working on the outline for the second book. I want to try something different with it. Instead of it being a ‘good girl’ why not have her a bad girl. She’s going to be at least ten years younger than the love interest, but they’ve both done time in prison so there’s that bond. Plus, I have a real good reason for her to hook up with _____ (No, not giving you his name, :P).

 

Steampunk Series: Arlington Creed and the Case of the Marinated Mariner (For Anthology)

Just as I predicted, I’ve gone over the 10k mark. I’ve decided to write several of the first draft of this series before I do anything with it. I need to get a feel for the length of the stories. Right now, this one could come in under 20k, but the next could be more. If that’s the case and all the rest of the stories are novel length, it would serve me well to put the first free and have the rest paid, like I’m doing for THE WATCHTOWER series.

 

NEW PROJECT ALERT!!!

I came up with two stand-alone novel ideas over Hallowe’en. I don’t know why, but these too just jumped out at me. I’ve jotted down a rough outline and plot for the first; a supernatural/paranormal horror/mystery called DOWN FINNEGAN’S HOLLOW, and the second, well it’s still rough. Very rough. I don’t even have a working title for it yet. I’ve got about 2k done on the first chapter of HOLLOW and I pulled THE CARRIERS from rotation to work on it.

I might work THE CARRIERS over the weekends. I need to think more about how this whole thing will work out, plus it’s nice to work on a story I know doesn’t have sequel.

 

Are you doing NaNo this year? If so, how do you like it so far?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

