Science Fiction Sub-Genres; Hard Science Fiction.

One of the most detailed sub-genre’s I’ve come across has to be Hard Science Fiction. I sat here for two days trying to find the right words to explain exactly what is was, and fell short every time. Maybe because I don’t write hard scifi, mine tends to fall into the soft category. As I was scanning the pages of the internet, I found a wonderful explanation on the author’s website:

“Hare sci-fi begins by defining sci-fi as that branch of literature which is written with science or technology as the main focus of the story. The hard sci-fi writer takes great care to make the science and technology as plausible as possible.”

http://writings.mike-combs.com/

In other words, not only must there be plausible science in the technology of hard scifi stories, but it must be that technology that is the focus of the story.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hard_science_fiction

For someone like me, this type of story is intimidating. I’m not that smart when it comes to technical things, even though I do love watching science shows. I understand quantum theory (somewhat), but ask me to explain it to someone….um…no. I’m more of a soft scifi girl.

If you like hard SF stories, I found a link with the top hard SF novels. Mind you, these are preferences of the author of the article.

http://www.technologyreview.com/view/424202/the-best-hard-science-fiction-books-of-all-time/

What do you think of Hard Science Fiction? Have you read any?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Science Fiction Sub-Genres; Hard Science Fiction.

  1. Renee says:

    Hard sci-fi scares the bejesus out of me. I respect anyone who can write in this genre and combine the elements of science and craft so even I can read it. Not an easy thing.

  2. I like most hard SF and I read a lot of it. I like to try writing it, but I know I’m not smart enough to really get it right. So I settle for “plausible” science and I gloss over the technical bits. My stories are never about the tech anyway – they are always about the people.

    • When I used to read the Star Wars EU books, my eyes would glaze over when it came to all the technical stuff. It pulls me out of the story.

      I’m with you; mine are about the people too! 😀

Leave a Reply

