2013; A look back at book sales.

 

2013 was a good. I will remember it as the year everything finally started. SYMPATHY FOR THE DEMON came out at the beginning of summer and I wrote two other novels; THE POSSESSION OF MERCY MOREAU; my first attempt at a paranormal romance, and GUTTERCHILDE; the first book in my Steampunk adventure. I’m hoping to get both of these out in 2014. As to how, I’m not sure just, but the biggest thing to happen to me in 2013—I finally made some book sales!

From September 2011 to January 2013, I had a few sales. They were sporadic in total and weren’t enough to buy a cup of coffee. Until February. Then everything jumped. What did I do? I set the price of my first book of my paranormal series to perma-free.

Talk about a 360.

From February to July I had 3,923 downloads of my free ebook, then I did a little experiment and played around the books tags in August. From August to December I had a total of 4,324 downloads from four different countries. A total of 8,247, and that’s just from Amazon. I did good numbers for my free ebook on Smashwords as well; 1987, and that isn’t with the new tags either. I implemented those over the holidays as I assumed there would be a quiet period of a couple days. Altogether, I had 10,234 downloads of THE WATCHTOWER from February to December. It’s paid off too. The book hasn’t dropped below #55 in free occult books for the last four months.

One thing I will point out, getting those downloads wasn’t easy. While the perma-fee did bring people, it was part of a bigger marketing strategy. I submitted to a lot of book promotions sites and I was in a couple give-aways, and I’m thinking up some new ideas to promote the book as well. Marketing is a never-ending process, but it doesn’t have to be time consuming. A little goes a long way.

These downloads carried over into my priced books too. I did pretty good; enough to help me get out the next two in the series; THE PROPHECIES OF MORTALS, and the side book THE SAINTS OF BELVEDERE ROAD. The fact so many priced books did sell gives me hope that the next two, hell, the whole series could do well. That thought alone keeps me going.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to 2013; A look back at book sales.

  1. I’m really glad to hear the perma-free did some good. Here’s to continued success in 2014. I’m looking forward to reading about your progress.

Leave a Reply

