Mythical Wednesday: Ouija boards

ouijiSince it first came into the public eye in 1890, the Ouija board has only become more popular through the decades. It’s ‘ability’ to contact and communicate with spirits. It’s popularity came at a time when the Spiritualism movement was at its height, and people were looking for anything that could help them communicate with loved ones that had passed.

While some people claim it’s all a hoax, there are just as many who strongly believe in the Ouija board’s ability.

 

                Most paranormal researchers advise against the casual use of the Ouija board, suggesting that it can be a doorway to unknown dimensions. “The board itself is not dangerous, but the form of communication that you are attempting often is,” says Ghost researcher Dale Kaczmarek of the Ghost Research Society.    

http://paranormal.about.com/cs/ouijaboards/f/blfaq_ouija01.htm

 

I was fifteen or so the first time I saw a Ouija board, and there was something about it I didn’t like. I still don’t like them to this day and refuse to have one in my home. I even avoid them in the store. Yeah, I saw them in Toys R Us. In my opinion, it’s not a toy nor should it be treated as such. You never know what kind of entity you are communicating with. In my opinion, these things should be avoided. I didn’t even like researching this topic.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Mythical Wednesday: Ouija boards

  1. It’s funny that you should say this. I feel the exact same way. I won’t touch a Ouija board.

    I can’t explain why I feel this way. All I know is that my gut is telling me to keep my distance.

    • They creep me out. Always have. When I first saw one, my step-brother wanted me to use it with him, and I did, but it was against this urge to throw it out of the house.

  2. kmcambion says:

    Personally, I won’t fuck with an Ouija board. Even if 99% of me is sure that nothing will happen, I’m not willing to take that 1% risk that it’s going to make a demon pop up in my bathroom.

    • Nope, neither will I. When we saw them in Toys R Us, I gave it a wide berth. Husband wanted to buy one and I told him he’d be divorced if he ever brought one into the house.

Leave a Reply

