Writing Update for January 10, 1014

Quill-InkA new year is upon us, and like so many others, I’ve got goals for this year. Last year was good, but I think 2014 could be better, and I’m going to do my best to make it that way.

Books that WILL come out this year.

1. The Prophecies of Mortals

The fifth book of The Watchtower series is turning out to be one of the longer books I’ve written for the series, but there’s so much that needs to be told. I would be surprised if the final word count was close to 60-70k. I’m looking at a release date of late spring/early summer. Preferably the former.

2. The Saints of Belvedere Road

Some of you might remember me talking about this book a few years back, and how it made the query round, but that’s about it. I believe things happen for a reason, and as it turns out, this book was meant to be part of this series. Funny, as I wrote it back in 2008 NaNoWriMo and didn’t start working on the series until almost a year later. It’s just nice to see this book finding a home. Because this novel is finished, I should be able to put it out a few months after PROPHECIES comes out. I’d like it out by mid-summer, that way it would coincide with the timeline within the book.

3. The Possession of Mercy Moreau

This is my first paranormal romance and the first book in what I’m hoping will be another series. I’ve been researching Indie Press and am going to start querying them in a couple months. If that doesn’t work out, I can always put it out myself, but I’d like to see if it could be picked up first. Either way, this book will be published.

 

Books I HOPE will be out this year.

4. Book six of paranormal series.

I’d like to get this as-of-yet un-named book out by the holidays, but as it still has to be written, that’s asking a lot.

5. Gutterchilde  

Ah, my Steampunk adventure. I’m in the process of a drastic revision (much like the one I did for MERCY), so this is another one on the wish list.

6. Arlington Creed 

My second Steampunk book. I’ve been plotting out future books with this character and have about eight (must be my lucky number), with a very interesting plot twist, but I’m still trying to work out if I should introduce it right away or wait for a few books and then put it in.

7. Dark Fairy Tales (Darke’s Fairy Tales?)

I found several obscure tales online and have started writing a new spin to them. I have one planned out, and a good chunk of it started.

8. The Erotic Awakening of Brie

Another on my wish list. I have a second story written and plotted out a third. I’m not sure how many to include and as the title suggests, it’s going to be steamy.

 

This is my 2014 goal. Wouldn’t it be great if I could get them all done?

What are your writing goals for the new year?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to Writing Update for January 10, 1014

  1. maryrajotte says:

    Geez, woman, are you a robot? 🙂 I have lofty goals myself. I have a few different series on the go as well, but all are in the editing phase so I would like to get at least the first book of each series edited and out in submission land this year.

    I would love to hear more about your process and how you manage to get so much accomplished! is it just good ol’ fashioned butt-in-chair?

    • Heh, I’m not a robot, but yeah I think B.I.C is my secret. I tried to write 1k per day on three stories last year, and if I had time on the weekends, I’d work on the shorter projects. I’m not stuck in this schedule, but it’s good because after I write my goal, I put it away and do other non-writing stuff.

      What are your series about?

  2. Go for it! You can achieve anything you put your mind too!!

Leave a Reply

