So how about I do a give-away this summer?

rafflecopterI know, it’s a little early but the early bird gets the worm, right?

I’ve decided to do a giveaway this summer for the companion novel THE SAINTS OF BELVEDERE ROAD. I’m going to call it The Summer of the Scrayling Giveaway, and do it via Rafflecopter. I’ve never done anything like this before and I figure if I start planning now I should be able to have some really nice gifts when the time comes. I’m not rich, so they won’t be too extravagant and I want them to be connected (somewhat) to the book. I’ve got a $20 Amazon as one of the prizes and I should be able to find a few other things that complement the book between not and then. I have ideas, but I’m not sure if I can find them online.

Rafflecopter seems to be the way to go. I’ve seen several writer-friends do them and they look fun, I’m just not sure how to put it all together. I have some questions, but I’m not a big fan of ‘like this page’ or ‘follow me on twitter’ deal. It feels hollow and I want people to follow/like because they’re interested in my work, not because they could get stuff, or am I being too picky? I thought about having a few questions relate to the first book. The book itself is free so it’s not like they’d be spending any money, especially if I have the answers within the sample that’s available. Does that sound all right or too tacky?

I’ll update around the same time each month. I figure this would be a good way to build excitement, or is starting five or six month’s ahead ridiculous? I’m thinking I could do a post each month revealing the prize and talking about how it is connected to the book.

So there it is, the first stirring of my first giveaway. I’m excited and nervous at the same time. Have you done a giveaway? How did it go? Are my idea’s too lofty? I’d love any and all advice!

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to So how about I do a give-away this summer?

  1. I’ve done plenty of giveaways. The only thing I insisted on for Rafflecopter giveaways is that they ‘Like’ or ‘Follow’–not because I wanted to balloon my numbers but because I was tired of the contest junkies coming out of the woodworks because there was a chance to win a prize. Making people Like or Follow seemed like a way to separate potential readers from the prize trolls.

    I tried a Goodreads giveaway last year and I was impressed with the turnout, but whether it created more sales, I haven’t noticed.

    I try to do giveaways more as a goodwill gesture for potential readers rather than for direct sales.

Leave a Reply

