Author Interview with Marguerite Butler

February is the month of love, so is seems more than fitting that this month I interview Marguerite Butler, author of historical and paranormal romance.

So let’s begin…

1.Let’s get to know you a bit. Where are you from, and what genre do you write?

I’m a Texas farm girl, so it may sound odd that I primarily write historical and paranormal romance. I live in a town of just over two thousand people (allegedly. I suspect they count some of the cows). I’m old enough that I grew up without internet and cable TV. Books showed me a world outside of my small town. I still find escape in reading about far away places or long ago times.

2. With all the risks and uncertainty around publishing, what was it that drew you to a career in writing?

Writing is my second career. We have a small family farm, but my primary income is from my law practice. While I’m glad that law keeps a roof over our heads, it doesn’t feed the soul. I need writing to keep me sane. So I work full time as an attorney and write on the side. I hope to be able to flip that around in a few years and write full time with a side order of law. I’m a ways off from that but hey, it’s good to have goals, right?

3. Some would say a career in law is very analytical, while creating a novel is the exact opposite. Do you find it hard to keep the logical side of your life from crossing over to the creative side? 

I think my logical and creative sides play together quite nicely. The logical side makes sure the story and world building stays consistent, polices continuity, demands answers to plot holes. The creative side won’t shut up. It’s the side that says “Shut up and just write.” So I think they balance.

4. Has your career influenced your writing?

I’m not sure. It does inform my writing when I’m working on my paranormals. I have a detective as one of my primary characters.  I’ve spent almost 20 in criminal law, so I have a good working knowledge of law enforcement and criminal procedure. Plus I know lots of ways to dispose of bodies. So there is that.

5. Let’s talk a little about your latest project. What is the title and what is it about

My most recent book was the fourth in my Mad Hatterly series about a family of gentlemen scientists in Regency England. The first three books were Compromising Prudence, Becoming Mr. Brooking and Civilizing Frances. In Rescuing Lady Rose, Henry Hatterly learns that the hero business is harder than it looks. Henry is given an important mission by the Foreign Office. He must convince a notoriously reclusive and paranoid Viennese physicist to sell his plans for a flying contraption to England. To keep from attracting the wrong sort of attention, Henry is ordered to pretend he is courting the scientist’s great-niece. Too bad Lady Rose already hates him.  When Lady Rose is taken hostage along with the plans, she is determined to rescue herself and see her kidnapper punished. She definitely needs a hero’s assistance, but why–oh why?–is the only hero available that odious Henry Hatterly? And why can’t she forget the one delicious kiss they shared?

6. What do you hope readers will find interesting about this story?

This book has everything I love best about madcap romantic comedies. There is a super smart heroine, a nerdy hero, a rotten little lapdog, a sneaky villain, lots of action and adventure, and of course, a happy ending.

7. What is it about historical or paranormal fantasy that attracts you to it? 

For historical and paranormal, both have the same appeal. It’s fantasy. I play in a world that is far from my everyday life. I read and write for escape, so that’s why I gravitate to worlds long, long ago or far, far away.

8. Is there a genre that you would like to write? Something you would find a challenge?

Which is of course why I would like to write a fantasy novel some day. I love the idea of completely creating my own world. Maybe I have a god complex, but I think that would be the ultimate. I’m only afraid I would spend too much time playing in the land of make believe until reality became too boring.

9. Have you ever thought about giving up? If you did, what changed your mind?

I have thought about giving up. I’ve thought about it a lot. I’m not a young kid, but at a time in life when I’m planning for my retirement. But then I pick up a book and that sparks the ideas again. Reading makes me want to write and with the self-publishing revolution, I know that I can always share my writing, whether big time publishing offers me a platform or not. So I will always write and seek out my own audience.

10. If you were given the opportunity to write a fan-fiction novel, who is the author you would choose, and what would be the book?

 

Ooh, good question. Okay, true confession time: I fanfic almost every book I enjoy–in my head. I don’t write them down, but I can’t resist adding to a story I love. I always want more. If I was going to fanfic a series, it would probably be Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels books because I love the world and characters so much. I don’t think I would add to Kate and Curren’s story because that comes for the author, but I would definitely write my own characters set in that world.

~~~~~

Where you can find Marguerite online:

Her blog: The Regency Redneck http://margueritebutler.blogspot.com/

Her author page on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Marguerite-Butler/138477259501870?ref=hl

Twitter: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Marguerite-Butler/138477259501870?ref=hl

 

Where you can buy her books:

51rddVRx-gL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_Musa Publishing Store: http://musapublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=14&products_id=685

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Rescuing-Lady-Rose-Mad-Hatterlys-ebook/dp/B00GZBLRJG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1390865893&sr=1-1&keywords=marguerite+butler

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/rescuing-lady-rose-marguerite-butler/1117527814?ean=2940148294320

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/382744

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

