It’s almost Spring!

springAre you sick of winter yet? I’m pretty sure I have some friends in the Southern States who are, and to be honest I would be lying if I didn’t say I’ve had a few moments when I wished it would be over. Winters can be hard up here. The snow can pile up like crazy, and the cold seeps into your bones and feels like it’ll never go away. It’s also hard for groceries. Sure, we have an abundance thanks to warmer climates and the trucking industry, but bananas go bad real fast if they’re left in chilly temperatures. Winter is also the time when we load up on carbs, and not the good ones either.

There is one good thing about a hard winter; lots of snow. I know I just turtle rockcomplained about it in the previous paragraph, but there’s a good side to it as well. Melting snow adds to the groundwater, if you’re on a well, you know how important that is. The last few years we’ve seen a decrease in the level of water in Lake Ontario. Turtle Rock (the name Husband gave a large rock in a run-off pond near town) used to be a favourite hangout for turtles (hence the name) but over the last few years, there have been next to none sunbathing. The climb up the side was too steep for them.

More ground water also I can water more freely in the gardens. I’m already thinking about plants and veggies I want to grow, and hopefully I’ll have a better time of it than I did last year. I saw an interesting way to grow cucumbers up a strong wooden trellis I’d like to try, plus we have to transplant a few perennials from the front garden to someplace a little more roomy. So many ideas, so little time or money.

What about you? Any plans for gardens?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to It’s almost Spring!

  1. I’ve started my seedlings. Just waiting for all chances of frost to pass. It can’t be long now. It’s been hard on us, not so much because of the colder weather, but because it rollercoasters from spring to winter in the same week. Hard on me and the animals.

    I’ll be glad when it’s stable.

    Are you trying any new veggies this year? I’m going to try a couple new pepper and tomato varieties.

    • I want to stick to what works, but Husband wants to only plant corn. Considering the ones we did last time were chewed down by…something…I don’t think it’s a wise decision.

  2. Another thing snow (or frozen ground) is good for, is killing weed seeds and insect eggs/larvae. When you live in an area that doesn’t get cold enough, you are overrun with insects and weeds.

Leave a Reply

