A Personal Opinion; Should we trust the experts?

A while back, Husband and I were watching a news show about the cleansing craze. You know the ones I mean, those rituals of limiting yourself to certain foods to help cleanse the toxins in your body. I’ve heard about them a while back, and was told you need to do one before you start any kind of diet. I didn’t know much about them, hence the reason to watch the show.

 The main thing that drew me to this program was the fact this cleanse was promoted by Dr. Oz. If you don’t know who he is, you live in a cave. Seriously, go look him up. I’ve always respected this man simply because he seems to truly want to help people become healthier, and as Husband and I are always looking for new ways to improve our health, this cleanse, endorsed by Dr. Oz, was interesting.

 Too bad the show proved it didn’t do what he claimed.

This got me to thinking about how much we put our faith, our trust, in people we believe are experts, especially when it comes to our health. I remember years ago, a ‘health guru’ claimed that we had to stop eating all fat; completely eliminate it from our diet and we’d lose weight. Do you know how hard that is? More recently, another so called expert said we needed to stop eating all root vegetables. That it was the starch/carbs from these plants that was contributing to the obesity epidemic. I don’t see that first expert on any of the talk shows anymore, and come on, stop eating all vegetables? When my doctor suggested that I might be carb sensitive, she said to stay away from certain FRUITS!

I found this site. It reflects some of what I’ve come to believe.

http://authoritynutrition.com/top-9-healthiest-foods-to-eat/

 What about you? Do you believe what these experts say or do you take it with a grain of salt?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to A Personal Opinion; Should we trust the experts?

  1. I never go with the latest craze. We’ve made changes to our diet, but only after researching. Since I don’t watch much TV, it’s easy to avoid the experts. I’ve heard before that Dr. Oz has a few weird ideas. He’s not infallible – no one is. This is why we need to get information from many sources.

  2. My thinking has always been, all things in moderation.

    As for Dr. Oz, part of his problem might be programming. He’s got to keep coming up with things for his audience. Sometimes that backfires on him.

Leave a Reply

