It’s a blog hop sort of thang!

My friend Paul Carroll asked me if I wanted to be a part of a blog hop. I have to answer four questions and then find more people to pass this on to. Never done one before so I thought I’d give it a try. Not sure what to expect, so here goes.

 

What am I working on?: Well if that isn’t a loaded question, I don’t know what is. As I write this out, I’m finishing up the last chapter of book five to my paranormal series. It’s been a bugger to write, mostly because I’ve been so distracted with other WIPS. I’m hoping to have it done by the end of this week at the latest. April is going to be a hard month of revisions.

Then there is THE POSSESSION OF MERCY MOREAU, the PR novel that needs revising. GUTTERCHILDE, the first book in a Steampunk series that needs a major overhaul. I revised the first chapter of MISTAKEN REALITY, a scifi novella (the beginning of yet another series), and I am poking away at DOWN FINIGGIN’S HOLLOW, my horror novel. Whether or not all these will get done this year is unknown.

 

How does my work differ from other in this genre? This is a strange question. Of course each writer is going to think their work is different, but is it really? I mean, sure, my stories have real information in them, so when I write that a certain herb is used for purifying, then you can be sure it’s the truth, but I don’t think that makes my work any different. Maybe just a little less…creative? In my second book UNDER THE COVER OF WICCA, Aslin instructs a Daniel to stay away from the blood of the gargoyles (quicksilver) as he didn’t bring an antidote. Quicksilver is also known as mercury, and in this case, I think the cure is worse than the disease, so…stay away from it.

 

Why do I write what I do? If you knew me in real life, you’d know the answer. I am drawn to the darker side of nature; always have been. I don’t think I could write about fluffy bunnies and happy elves, unless they were being served as the main course for dinner. My mind is constantly thinking up story ideas, or new twists on a story, or how I can incorporate a gruesome detail into an existing story. It’s a rather macabre life, but I’ve been like this since childhood when I used to wonder if one could get away with burying a body in a field under an abandoned car…

How does your writing process work? I write lots of outlines. Lots of outlines. I outline the overall story and then go chapter by chapter. When I write, I have at least two files open; one that has the outlines, and another for future information or plot ideas that can be added in during revisions. Generally, I see a scene play out in my mind before I write them down, especially difficult ones like fight scenes. It’s the only way I can keep it all straight. I tried to read, but come the end of the day I’m either too tired or just not in the mood, but don’t tell my husband that. He thinks I read all the time on my Kobo.

 

If you would like to continue with this blog hop, I offer you my good friend Matt Sinclair President and Editor in Chief of Elephant’s Bookshop Press, LLC, and author friend Dean C Rich. Their post will be up next Monday.

DeanconstitutionDean C. Rich has lived from New York to California, Washington to Texas, and several places in between.  He loves the Rocky Mountains, where he spent 18 years, and has lived in the heartland.  He currently resides in Mississippi with his wife and his youngest two children (His other three kids are grown and out of the house) and two cats.  A dog would be most welcome, but his wife is not overly fond of critters, she and the cats tolerate one another.    He enjoys writing Speculative Fiction, mainly Fantasy, and Science Fiction.  His current project is an epic fantasy that has a mind of its own.  He is attempting to rein it in and tame it so it may be printed.  Dean also enjoys photography, camping, reading, good movies, and of course telling fun stories.

http://deanswritingtime.blogspot.ca/

 

FTWA headshotMatt Sinclair is an author and a New York City-based journalist covering philanthropy and charity, primarily in the United States—a field he has covered since the mid-1990s—and a freelance editor and writer covering as much of everything else as he can. He is a site moderator at Agent Query Connect and blogs at the Elephant’s Bookshelf and From the Write Angle. He tweets from @Elephantguy68. In 2012, he established Elephant’s Bookshelf Press, LLC, which has now published six books including the novel Whispering Minds by A.T. O’Connor.

elephantsbookshelf.blogspot.com

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

