Writing Update for April 4, 2014

For the near future, my writing updates will be limited to my paranormal series. I have a revision deadline of May 1 for book five so I won’t be able to work on my other projects.

Having said that, book five THE PROPHECIES OF MORTALS is coming along nicely. I finished the first draft near the end of March, and took the rest of the month off. It comes in at 67, 647 word count and so far, I’ve revised the first two chapter and brought that up by 5k.

Ugh. I thought revisions were about cutting words, not adding. I still haven’t come up with a good book blurb either. Usually I have one at this point, but my brain doesn’t seem to want to do that just yet.

I still have another eleven chapters to go. I’m pushing to do one chapter a day, except on weekends. With the nicer weather, I’d rather be out cleaning up the property than writing. Plus, I need the exercise. Boy do I need the exercise.

 

Tally

2/13 chapters revised.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

7 Responses to Writing Update for April 4, 2014

  1. Sounds like it’s coming along. I also find that editing increases my word count. Odd.

  2. Every indoor activity stops when spring arrives. It’s my favorite time of year.

    Re: blurbs
    When I have trouble with a blurb I sleep on it. It’s the last thing I think about at night and I let my subconscious wrestle with it while I sleep. 9 times out of 10 something comes to me right before I wake in the morning. I have to keep repeating the words until I’m fully awake to make sure I remember them, but it works.

Leave a Reply

